We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great ice cream”
Review of Ben & Jerry's

Ben & Jerry's
Ranked #10 of 32 Dessert in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Alexandria
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great ice cream”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Excellent ice cream and selections. Took some pints home with me. This is now more than 50 characters

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Treybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    17
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Ice Cream, Mediocre Service”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Most of the readers of this a article will likely have visited a Ben & Jerry's before, so on taste I will be brief. The ice cream here is, like every other member of this franchise, fantastic. The location on near the Torpedo Factory and Old Town's Wharf allows for a pleasant walk along the river with some delicious ice cream. The only thing that I found issue with was the service. The workers there were a little rude, and I found myself wishing that I could get through the cue faster, so that I could spend less time interacting with the staff. Frankly, though, Ben & Jerry's is not a sit down restaurant, and the taste of the ice cream should be valued far more than the interactions with the staff. Other than these two things, the price is large, but not outrageous, and the decor is clean and fun. For a tasty stroll, the Ben & Jerry's in Old Town is a great choice.

Helpful?
Thank BobNewbrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“What's not to like?”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

It's Ben and Jerry's. What more needs to be said? This location has a "cowch" (a cow shaped into a couch), which was fun. The portions are very generous.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank VMSTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Child Friendly”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Best of all, B & J is child friendly with a bench designed as a cow for children (he needs a good cleaning, however), chalk board tables, dry erase board, and blow up balls to toss around. There are 2 other ice cream shops around the corner but we made the switch to B & J. Kids love it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FamilyVacationing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Moriches, New York
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

How can you go wrong with Ben and Jerry's? I don't even mind paying $6.00 for a small cup of deliciousness. Ice cream heaven.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank radiiochick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben & Jerry's also viewed

 
Alexandria, VA
 

Been to Ben & Jerry's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing