We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Quaint and really good”
Review of Uptowner Cafe

Uptowner Cafe
Ranked #3 of 24 Coffee & Tea in Alexandria
Restaurant details
Reviewed May 7, 2019

Surprised by the lack of seating for what turned out to be one great breakfast. Small mom and pop place with barely a kitchen, but it was great. Gourmet coffee, bagels, meats and eggs. DO NOT BYPASS, even if you have to sit on the street curb and eat.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank 758harriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 65 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2019 via mobile

We had a nice lunch here on a day trip from Washington DC.

We were however over charged on the tax when paying the bill. It’s 4.3% in Virginia but when we queried it we were told it’s 10% in Alexandria. We couldn’t find that anywhere on the internet so just hope it wasn’t because we were tourists!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Suzanne0561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2019

It was fresh everything. Bean sprouts, cucumber, tomato, cheese and bagel. It was across the street from hotel.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mimitimes4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2019

We stopped for a break during our walking tour. The atmosphere is welcoming and homey. The tea was delicious too.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank runinCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018

The Uptowner Cafe was a block from our hotel on King Street. My husband and I loved the breakfast sandwiches and pastries. And, of course, the coffee was great! The people behind the counter are very nice!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Auntgranny56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uptowner Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Uptowner Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing