We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go to Nando's Peri Peri” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nando's Peri Peri

Nando's Peri Peri
Ranked #73 of 748 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Go to Nando's Peri Peri”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I have been to this Nando's location 3 times now.
The seating experience is different, but it is certainly no reason for complaint.
The food, portion size and prices are great.
I have tried all the sides and most of the sandwiches. I can't complain about any of it- all good. I will rave about their appetizer garlic bread. It is deelish.
I am not big on hot sauce, so I can not comment on the thotness factor - I know, I know that is what they are known for. I have tried the Lemon & Herb and Mango & Lime and they were both tasty.

The customer service at Nando's is outstanding. There are very few businesses that really care about making their customer experience worthwhile - Nando's really cares about making their eaters happy.
I will keep going back to Nando's because the food is good, but even more so because the customer service makes me so happy!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank heather p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    54
    14
    9
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yummy chicken on NYE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

The place was totally full as we came in, and a group of four were turned away before us. This was right before 10pm too, so the kitchen was about to close - me and my partner were the last two people to come in and order! We ordered a half a chicken and Portuguese rice, my favourites. Excellent service considering the busyness and time of the day.

A good thing about Nando's is that you can buy their delicious sauces at the restaurant, and that's what my partner did!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lassie-92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“confused experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

decided to give a try after walking by this place a lot. well, i don't think i like it.
it was kind of wierd that you got ushered in and seated, and then you got up to order at the counter...
the so called hot sauce was not that hot. overall, the chicken was good but not something that can blast your taste buds. it was overly priced, especially for the side dishes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shawn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
378 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Good food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Nando's is a nice place to eat. Good quality food at reasonable prices. My criticism of the Nando's model is that it is something between fast food and a full service restaurant: you order at a counter; the staff delivers the food to your table; and you're responsible for eveything else, i.e., drinks, utensils, sauces, etc. What's the point...go across the street, pay a few bucks more and get cloth napkins and full service.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wineaux FromAlexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, VA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Tasty and fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Ate at Nando's Peri Peri for lunch for the first time. The Old Town location is 2 stories. As you enter, you are greeted and seated. Once seated, you look at the menu, notice your table number, and then go up to the cash register/bar to order your meal. It is brought to you at your table. So it's a combination of self service/being served. We were upstairs and the music was lively. It might have been a little bit too loud because it was hard to hear my friend sometimes. Downstairs seemed quieter. The main staple of the restaurant is chicken cooked at different levels of spicy. The menu says they have mild too. It's a mix of African and Portuguese flavors. They have sandwiches, salads, comfort food such as chicken and mashed potatoes, and more. Nice selection. I had the country salad with lemon chicken and a side of fries with the peri peri salt & mayo. Fun flavors! The salad had a tasty cheese in it...halloumi? Recommend giving it a try.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mjbbowls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nando's Peri Peri also viewed

 

Been to Nando's Peri Peri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing