We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unassuming place, definitely worth a stop”

La Fromagerie Cheese & Wine Bistro
Ranked #25 of 902 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Contemporary, Healthy, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Description: La Fromagerie's Bistro is the perfect place to enjoy a cheese and meat plate with a glass of wine in a relaxed, intimate atmosphere. Owner and Chef Sebastien Tavel bases his elegant, light fare menu around fresh seasonal food available from local farmers, particularly the heirloom and forageable produce that help support the biodiversity of our area.
Reviewed May 26, 2019

Walking on King St. Before a dinner at another resto, we came across this spot. We gave it a try and were pleasantly surprised. Nice wine list, friendly staff. We had a small plate of Cheese and Charcuterie. Nice plate, tasty products as well as nicely presented. Reasonably priced as well. We’ll definitely be back.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dickstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 104 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2019 via mobile

I popped in here to quench my wine thirst, and I wasn’t disappointed. The staff was very helpful, the atmosphere was quaint and the wine selection was above average. The by-glass selection is somewhat small but it rotates, and they have a decent selection from around the world. The food was a nice surprise, too; moderately priced, good quality and quite filling. Liked it well enough that I came back again on one of their busier nights. It does get a bit crowded but it’s worth.

One of the staff helped my traveling companion discover his palate. He was very patient and seemed to enjoy the exploration. If I’m ever in Old Town again, I WILL be back.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2019 via mobile

We came across this restaurant by accident and it was extremely good. We both had main courses, freshly cooked. My paperdelle was chestnut and served with butternut squash and pumpkin seeds, brilliant. The owner was very helpful on wine choices, and we had an excellent bottle of Nero d'Avolo. We had the cheese plate for dessert, three great cheeses beautifully kept. This restaurant is well worth seeking out.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank JaneS490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2018 via mobile

This was impromptu stop after a walk around Alexandra. We were so glad we stopped!
We had the most beautiful and delicious cheese tray! We expected our selected Cheeses and a bit of honey and some crackers. We were surprised with home-made pickles, apples, figs, delicious toasted bread, a phenomenal sweet potato paste, a chutney all in addition to the honey we requested.
Delightful service and a divine selection of wines and cheeses

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank 950jeniferw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2018

We wanted to check this place out for happy hour and all the small plates on the menu was $5 along with red or white "house" wine for $5 a glass.
The servings weren't big, but the small plates had enough food for 2 people to share and we got 4 small plates. Wines by the bottle were available from their retail racks for a $10 corkage fee.
The lady serving us was very courteous and the service was great as we talked for a couple of hours.
The place filled up quickly around 7pm and was quite lively.
Great place to go.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank corkscrewd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fromagerie Cheese & Wine Bistro also viewed

 

Been to La Fromagerie Cheese & Wine Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing