We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart Wrenching” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandria National Cemetery

Alexandria National Cemetery
Ranked #9 of 80 things to do in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cedar Hill, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Heart Wrenching”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is a very much worthwhile place to visit. The tour buss is the best way to go. The grounds are expansive. You need to have plenty of time. The Changing of the Guard is remarkable and memorable. It helps you gain and /or regain a tremendous respect for our Nations Military and the men and women who serve.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    28
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Marshfield, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
298 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Never miss an opportunity to honor our fallen heroes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

A walk through the Alexandria National Cemetery is another reminder of the high price of freedom and the amazing history of our nation. We never miss an opportunity to experience the sight of the rows of white stones that tell the story of our fallen heroes. Also connected to this National Cemetery are several local church cemeteries with new, old, and very old sections of interesting gravestones. A very intriguing day for someone who likes walking through old cemeteries.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a beautiful resting place that fills you with patriotism and deep respect for our soldiers. I recommend the tour (nominal fee) both for the information the guides have and the transportation (this is a big place to walk around in).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank karin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LITTLE CURRENT, ONTARIO, CANADA
Level Contributor
153 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“A MUST VISIT TO THE ALEXANDRIA NATIONAL CEMETERY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

A large cemetery full of military history and a wonderful display by the honor guard. So many gave their lives for our freedom! The Alexandria National Cemetery is a must visit for anyone visiting Washington D.C. or Alexandria, Virginia.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MICHAELSCRIBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

There is some great history here. All you have to do is do a little research. In the veteran's cemetary there are some graves from some civilians who died while chasing down John Wilke's booth, and in the other cemetary's there are some great relics to learn a little about the history. If you are into Geocaching, there are some geocaches that will take you to some of the lesser known, but still very interesting sites.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank swshrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alexandria National Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Alexandria National Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing