We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat site”

Alexandria National Cemetery
Ranked #10 of 88 things to do in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Neat site”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our hotel room overlooked this and it was unavoidable but neat to see. It was like a smaller version of Arlington and well maintained.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarrieMI2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    31
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
282 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Humbling Reminder - Beautiful Tribute”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

No one should visit DC without honoring our fallen soldiers by visiting the Arlington National Cemetery. The tour bus is great as you earn so much about history, as you are reminded of the sacrifices in the endless rows of graves.
When you visit sites such as JFK's grave, you realize how strategic the area of DC was planned - so that the beauty can be enjoyed from many vantage points.
The changing of of the guard is a reminder that honor and reverence still exist in this country. A "must" to be there to witness.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank NEVenturer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
157 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“You have to go to to appreciate it”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My 12 year old daughter didn't know why I wanted to go to a cemetery on our vacation, when we got there she understood. We spent several hours there looking at several of the "Unknown Soldier" graves and nearby graves with beautiful markers. The Tomb of the Unknown Soldier and the changing of the Guard is a Must See!! Very sombering... The cemetery is hilly and has lots of shade but be sure to bring water with you if visiting on a hot day. The Iwo Jima memorial and the Netherlands Carillon are pretty close by so be sure to visit while at the cemetery.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vacationnthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
292 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Small Arlington National Cemetery”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Somber and inspiring. The lines of headstones are beautiful yet sad. Good stop for a history buff without many invested hours. Shady areas which were very welcome when the heat index was over 100 degrees

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TTTravelers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
101 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“It is a must see!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

If you are in the DC area, the cemetery is a must see. The Tomb of The Unknown Soldier with the around the clock honor guards is a remarkable sight. You will gain appreciation what our military has given for our freedom.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank shardydmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alexandria National Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Alexandria National Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing