We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent food / Good service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sangjun Thai Restaurant

Sangjun Thai Restaurant
Ranked #144 of 748 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
235 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Decent food / Good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We ate here for lunch on a Saturday afternoon. I had appetizers (Larb Gai and Healthy Rolls) as an entree. The dipping sauces were good, though the Larb had a touch too much garlic for my liking. My companion had the Pad Thai which was fine... lots of crushed peanuts which I like. The service was excellent and the food came out FAST. This restaurant is on the corner of King Street and Fairfax, so there are lots of windows for some great people watching. There is an upstairs too, which wasn't occupied during lunch. It looks a bit stark, so given the choice, I'd choose dining on the first floor.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingfun101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    35
    22
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
lowestoft
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Thai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had Thai twice whilst in ALexandria and this was the best of them for me (although my wife prefered the one on the waterfront). good tasty food and lovely service.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bigbrifmLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, PA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Delicious Thai food, nice heat and spice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We met friends for dinner at Sangjun Thai and we all enjoyed our meals. We told the waitress we were vegetarian and did not want anything with fish in it and she was very helpful in helping us make appropriate selections. My drunken noodles were amazing, very, very spicy, but I couldn't stop eating them. My husband got the rama tofu and liked it but didn't love it. He said it needed more sauce & flavor. My daughter loved her pad see-ew (again, very spicy) but wasn't a fan of the Thai iced tea (she said it was too sweet). But overall, a good meal for a good price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stella_luna33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
143 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Nice little place in Old Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Menu was decent, prices were just right, and food was excellent. The veggies in the drunken noodles were very fresh and tasty. Just the right amount of spice. Quiet and small location on King Street, would be a great date place. Nice decor and ambiance.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Garlic Lover is Awesome”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Picked this restaurant based on viewing their menu. I got the Ginger Perfect and my friend got the Garlic Lover. The Ginger Perfect was just okay. However, the Garlic Lover was excellent. It had strong garlic flavor but was not overpowering to eat. The chicken still came through. The serving size of the garlic dish was twice as large as the ginger dish, providing us with dinner the next night. The service was okay. However, when we asked the waiter what rhyzomes were (it's garlic root), he did not know. Instead he went back to the kitchen and brought us out a sample. Raw garlic is not something you want to sample. Anyway, we enjoyed our meal, but probably would not go back to the restaurant for dinner since there are so many other restaurants in the area to try. However, we would get the Garlic Lover as take-out any time!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dsb223a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sangjun Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
Alexandria, VA
 

Been to Sangjun Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing