We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and convenient”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alexandria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gatsby's House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Alexandria B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Just had a very nice one-night stay at Gatsby's House. If we'd been staying longer, the Safeway across the street would have come in handy no doubt, but as it it was, we didn't need it with the fantastic Old Town dining a few blocks away and Marie's delicious breakfast. A very easy walk to all the Old Town attractions, beautiful, clean house, and nice location. Marie is very sweet and knowledgeable about the area, too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beebody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annamb22314, Owner at Gatsby's House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you for the review. It was a pleasure having you here. Safe travels and I hope our paths cross again some time.

Cheers,
Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Gatsby's House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 49 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

Marie is a delightful and knowledgeable hostess. The house is lovely and the room was very comfortable. The breakfast table was seasonally set and the breakfasts were a delight. The house is very convenient for walking into old Alexandria and the metro bus stops across the road. Would love to stay again...just adore alexandria!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lgmsomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have had the privilege of staying here multiple times, for both business and pleasure. Gatsby's House Bed & Breakfast just can't be beat for comfort, convenience, and hospitality. The location is amazing for strolling into Old Town, and very convenient for getting in and out of D.C. Public transportation of many modes are right outside the door, or just around the corner. Enjoy a stroll along the river, or a jog on the wonderful path that goes for miles.
Marie will make you feel at home, and provide a breakfast that will knock your socks off. The back garden is a true sanctuary to unwind after a long day of work or play. The guest rooms are quaint and extremely comfortable, you'll feel like you were upgraded to a suite, as you might have an entire floor of the house to yourself. For me, there's no other choice when I'm in the D.C. area.

Room Tip: There's only two choices; a room with a queen bed, and a room with two doubles (I think). The q...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jonnyqball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We consider ourselves very lucky to have come across available lodging with Marie at Gatsby's House. This was a last minute trip and we are used to staying at Bed and Breakfasts. Very little was available in the DC area and Marie only had two of the nights we needed; we are so glad she did. Gatsby's location is great! Just a few blocks off King Street where there are restaurants, shopping, the waterfront and the free King Street Trolley. It had been years since we had been in DC. Marie was a wealth of information. Directing us to restaurants, events, and helping us with transportation even driving us to the Metro station.
We booked the Blue Room but had the entire third floor to ourselves. The room was nicely decorated and very comfortable with good bedding. The bathroom has tub and shower also a nice sized sink, mirror and vanity area with good lighting. The house is right on the street but the lodging is on the third floor so there was no problem with noise and shades on all the windows help get the rooms dark for good sleeping.
Marie's breakfasts were very good and more than we could eat. Fruit, hash brown potatoes, quiche, juice, tea and coffee one morning and strawberries with yogurt, bacon, a delicious scrambled egg in a flaky biscuit and a hollandaise sauce, broiled tomato slices with cheese and sage, juice, tea and coffee the second morning.
Marie doesn' t allow pets but does have a dog. This was a small concern since I do have allergies. But it was not a problem. The dog does not come onto the third floor and I did not have any symptoms while there.
We had to stay in a motel for the rest of our stay and repeatedly wished we were still with Marie at Gatsby's House. We would definitely recommend this place and will stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Machelle1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I stayed at this quiet, charming bed and breakfast for a wedding. The room was clean and comfortable. It was very convenient to old town Alexandria's bars and restaurants-- we didn't need to drive at all. But the breakfasts were what really wowed me-- multiple courses, beautifully plated and with a variety of savory and sweet items at each meal. If we're ever near DC again, we'll be sure to stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Attractive, fresh and homey b&b a few blocks from King Street, the main thoroughfare of Old Town Alexandria. We loved our blue daisy room. Not frumpy or kitschy like you get in many b&bs.

Marie was extremely helpful and accommodating to my husband and me. We were planning our 5th anniversary trip around the childcare of our 2 year old. She was easy to reach and easy to communicate with.

Of note: beautiful and intimate backyard garden, a few blocks from Fontaine- an incredible creperie, blocks from the water and the Torpedo Factory.

We plan to return and will recommend that friends visit as well.

Room Tip: rooms on the back of the house overlook the garden.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Marie Buckley is the proprietress of this marvelous bed and breakfast. She went out of her way to help us find what we were looking for, and kindly adjusted her delicious breakfasts to match our dietary restrictions. When the temperature became unexpectedly cool for August, she took the extra time to open all of the windows, and then to close them again when the next heat wave arrived. By renting the large room on the third floor, you get a charming view of the garden. The house is in the historic district on the south side, close to the waterfront and near a newly designed park which is excellent for walking or jogging by the old lighthouse. It's a short walk to King Street which has many restaurants and shops and a free trolley to the DC metro.

Room Tip: The Blue Queen Room is ideal.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevenJonKaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Old Town
Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,290 reviews
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gatsby's House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatsby's House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 517 3/4 S Royal St, Alexandria, VA 22314-4139
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Alexandria
Price Range: $150 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheery private home Old Town Charmer is located in the historic Southeast quadrant. Gatsby's House is convenient to all amenities; two blocks to water; four blocks to King Street and its great shopping and amazing restaurants. Easy access to DC and other historic sites. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing