We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveler rating
91
23
7
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
91
23
7
6
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 128 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2017

This hotel is very clean and I received very warm smiles, the hotel had a scent of pure relaxation. When I signed in the gentleman(Christian Hawks) was that all my needs had been met and Mr. Hawks made sure my room was perfect. Close to Ft. Belvoir and nice eatery's around the area as well.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank jvc2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2017

Thank you for staying with us and providing your feedback. I am pleased to hear that Mr. Hawks was warm and welcoming. We look forward to having you back the next time you're in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2017

We stayed for one night and it was better than expected with the kitchen.
It gave us ideas for longer stays.
Pro:
very clean
very comfortable, especially for a longer stay
roomy with kitchen, desks, lounger chair, refrigerator
Seemed nicely setup for longer stays.
Nice furniture.
Staff seemed very friendly
Great view of a bald eagle from the parking lot.
Very nice pantry for those quick items w/o going out.
Very quiet, except for refrigerator.
Great temperature control
It just felt good and comfortable.

Cons:
Shower curtain not long enough & flooded floor
Not the most attractive styling inside
View to west has burned-out hotel, not too bad.
Did not have breakfast included, but kitchen was helpful as we packed our own breakfast
noisy refrigerator.
Quirky left turn from parking lot (go to next door hotel & turn left.)
Parking a bit weird, but ok
Route 1 construction, but ok in front of hotel.

Room tip: Go to hotel next door to make a left turn otherwise must turn right, then U-turn. Bring breakfast.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShenVal04
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2017

Thank you for staying with us and providing your feedback. Your comments have been shared with the appropriate departments. We look forward to having you back the next time you're in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2016

Front desk staff rude, unresponsive and ill prepared. One young lady in particular made it very evident that guests were an unwelcome inconvenience. She took what could have been a pleasant stay and turned it unpleasant very quickly.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SSNich
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrentBourgeois, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2016

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. I have shared your comments with the appropriate departments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2016 via mobile

My family came for a weekend getaway to D.C. We wanted to stay a little bit away from all the hustle and bustle and decided to stay at the Candlewood. I spoke with Menar upon arrival and she was amazing. She upgraded us to a suite because there were 5 of us... That was awesome! Our room was very nice and perfect for our needs. When we left Frederick the manager was personable and thanked us for our stay and my service. I would 100% stay here again. Thanks Candlewood in Alexandria!

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank shmegan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrentBourgeois, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2016

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay. I will pass on your kind words to the rest of the staff. We look forward to having you again, the next time you're in the area!

Trent Bourgeois
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2016 via mobile

We are a military family who moved to Fort Belvoir and needed a place to stay for a couple of weeks while we waited for our home to become available. For us, the price of the suite offered at this hotel combined with the location made staying here the logical choice.
Having said that, the hotel staff was what really made this stay memorable. There was no need that went unfulfilled or any request not granted, even requests that any other hotel would deny for inconvenience.
Our room offered a full-sized refrigerator, stove top, separate bedroom while the hotel boasts free laundry facilities, gym and so on. They even have a check out system where you can obtain anything from exercise gear to board games.
Bottom line, this hotel as a building is not unlike many hotels you have stayed at. It is a place to lay your head and offers all the amenities to increase your comfort. How the staff takes care of you is what makes this place unique and special. I will not stay anywhere else in the future and I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank Kbaker9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrentBourgeois, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2016

I am pleased to hear you that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Trent Bourgeois
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews