We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Eve at The Birchmere”
Review of The Birchmere

The Birchmere
Ranked #1 of 11 Nightlife in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Gaithersburg, MD
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve at The Birchmere”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We went to The Birchmere to see The Seldom Scene, Donna Ulisse and The Poor Mountain Boys and The Stray Birds. The entertainment at The Birchmere never fails!

The food was great too! We had a Baked Brie, some Stuffed Mushrooms and delicious Pecan Pie for dessert!

No matter who is playing, you will always have a great time at The Birchmere

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ltsjdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    104
    31
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pylesville, Maryland
2 reviews
“Super-fun bluegrass new year celebration”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The Birchmere doesn't need my endorsement. The place is a music institution, and this year's Dec. 31 lineup, headed by the Seldom Scene, did not disappoint. Great fun and decent food, but the food isn't the point of the place.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JayADee47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Va
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice, smaller venue for music”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I had not been here for decades, and went Dec 28 to see Southside Johnny. I had a very nice experience, and the acoustics and seating were not disappointing. Overall, a great experience. I would go again! Pricing for ticket was reasonable Did not eat here.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank loist51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“If you like the Act you're going to see, a great venue and experience”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

It's all about the venue, which is the right size to enjoy live music from any seat. Many of the artists are on their way up, or old acts past their prime. The food is adequate, not great...but has improved a lot since I was last there. If you are someone who wants to sit right up front or have a large party to seat together, line up early since seating is first come. Disclosure: this place is a mile from my house so perhaps easier to please me.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincipessaDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“This is a very special place”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

500 seats - and great music - we are so fortunate to have the Birchmere - we get great acts and get to enjoy them in a small venue - you should sign up for the newsletter so you stay on top of who is coming. You do need to go over and wait from 3-5 on the day of the show to get an entry number so you can sit close to the stage - but it is worth it!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shamus01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Birchmere also viewed

 

Been to The Birchmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing