We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the venue but why no water?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Birchmere

The Birchmere
3701 Mount Vernon Ave, Alexandria, VA 22305
1-703-549-7500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Nightlife in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
135 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Love the venue but why no water?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

So you have to pay $2 for water here. REally? Why? The ticket prices have been going up (a lot) over the years and now if you want water they charge you. I think this stinks.
Other than that, we love seeing music here because its a small place and they get great bands.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jillnt6772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    96
    27
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Local Live Music Venue in VA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Best bookings. Classic artists. Great Stage. Just wish they used the Bandstand more often. The whole dinner-theater arrangement is good for the bottom line, I know, but that doesn't mean I have to like it!!!! Food is standard greasy spoon fare served with good intentions. Heck, at least the service is speedy! Order pitchers of beer (fine selection) see next paragraph:

Here's and insider/local tip. Eat across the street at the Bar at RT's Restaurant. Order the Jack Daniel's shrimp, better yet, order 2 of them. You will thank me.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank GJAM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston VA
Level Contributor
322 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Good venue for music - food is so-so.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We saw The Association at this about 500 seat, dinner theater style venue. Everyone has a good view but it is crowded with seating at tables up to 8. So expect to meet people and interact. Our server was slowwww, Other servers around us had food on the table 10-15 minutes faster. Good selection of entrees. But my crabcake sandwich had frozen cocktail sauce with it rather than tartar sauce and no coleslaw. Our appetizer, an onion "jumble" was tasty but came immediately before the entrees. So we did not get a chance to enjoy them. A tad pricey for the quality and the service.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Godguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Music Hall in America”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

One of the best Music Halls in America. Best place to enjoy a meal, a beer and great musical artist. Is like no other place in the DC area for a great night out.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jim f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
180 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great Music with Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a great venue for enjoying all sorts of music. All seating is at tables, so you have to turn around to see the performers from some of the seats, but this isn't a problem. We saw Tommy Emmanuel; the show was sold out--as are many of the Birchmere's shows. You don't have to eat or drink, but most of the patrons do because most people arrive prior to dinner hour. There is an extensive menu; food is surprisingly good; and the portions are more than ample. The waitstaff knows their stuff. Hints: Get on their mailing list for advance notice of who will be appearing. Reserve (buy your tickets) as early as possible. If you want to sit down front, get there when the doors open because you'll be given a number in order of when you show up; then get in line to get your ticket and find the best seat you can. (You can always leave, wander around, and come back to your seat.) There is plenty of free parking.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank KenCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Birchmere also viewed

 

Been to The Birchmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing