We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but pricey”
Review of Alexandria Cupcake

Alexandria Cupcake
Ranked #4 of 27 Bakeries in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Florida
Level Contributor
244 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Good but pricey”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We tried the chocolate with peanut butter, the coconut and the chocolate cupcakes. They were big and tasted good but cost $3 each. Service was good and they have a good box for take outs.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alwaysfun2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    30
    16
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Yum”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The cupcake selection was great and the cupcake itself was moist and tender. BUT - the frosting - was to die for! It was so light and fluffy, creamy and the perfect compliment to the cake.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Harriet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3,328 reviews
1,389 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3,903 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Check the hours before you go, but definitely make time to GO! It's an adorable place in a fabulous location (between Patrick and Henry Streets), and the cupcakes are the perfect size. Try it out!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank QuickWhitTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“oh so goooood!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I have tried lots of cupcake places and I think this is the best. Cupcakes are super fresh, good variety of flavors with some traditional and some trendy (like Guiness which was excellent). My absolute favorite was the chocolate with chocolate icing. I dont know how they get such a deep, dark INTENSE chocolate flavor but they did. It was also very moist and light. My least favorite was vanilla/vanilla. The flavor was very good but it was just a tad dry. As others have mentioned, it is pricey $15 for 4 but for a vacation or once in a while treat, very worth it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank momopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"Okay" cupcake, horrible service”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

On vacation in Alexandria today. Waited outside of Alexandria Cupcake for the store to open at noon, before catching our flight back home. We were very excited to try them. The cupcakes were tasty but nothing to rush back for. The service was the worst part of the experience. The girl behind the counter acted like we were putting her out by asking about the flavors or asking for a bag to carry the cupcakes that we purchased (we were the only ones in the store so we were not holding up other customers). Upon opening, they only had 4 flavors out. The girl at the counter said "That's all we have". Only to find out that many more flavors were brought out to display within 5 minutes. Would it have been so difficult to say "This is all we have now but more are on the way"? We felt like we had to settle for the limited choices that were available. We also went to DC Cupcakes in Georgetown during our trip. Much better service there.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveler249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alexandria Cupcake also viewed

 

Been to Alexandria Cupcake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing