We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Towne Motel Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Towne Motel Alexandria
Ranked #34 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Taylors, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Overall, this was a good value. No extras, just a well-kept, clean room with comfortable beds and bathroom. No sign of bed bugs anywhere. Price was a good value, considering it was a busy time of the year. About ¾ mile walk to King St. Eddie & Neil (front office) were very accommodating. They should be given big raises.The Royal Restaurant has decent breakfasts, although a little expensive. The buffet on Sat & Sunday is real nice ~11$.
Pros:
1. The shower stall appeared to be made of marble slabs. Plenty of hot water and the shower worked well.
2. Wireless worked OK. It did drop out occasionally. Once you logged on, it was on for the duration of your stay. No logging on each day.
3. Free parking with plenty of space.
4. Had Direct TV Box & remote.
5. The room was very clean. Beds were large (2 queens) & comfortable.
6. The heating unit was old, but worked well.
7. Front desk people (Eddie & Neil) were very helpful.
8. Area was fairly quiet at nite, particularly in the back section.
9. A good number of open AC power receptacles.
10. The small Kurieg coffee machine had a few coffees (4) that came with it, and they were replaced each day.
11. Had an iron & ironing board.
12. Had a working microwave and refrigerator.
Cons:
1. No paper or pen for taking notes.
2. No table next to the microwave, refrigerator & coffee maker. This would have been very handy.
3. No shampoos. No holders in shower for soaps or towels.
4. No hair dryer.
5. K-cup machine would occasionally put grinds in coffee. I think this more a case of operator error than a problem with the machine (although we seem to operate the one at home just fine).
6. The TV is an old analog/tube type (~27” screen).
7. Exterior of units could use a better paint job. Lots of peeling paint and paint on the brickwork.
8. Main office looks run-down. Looks more like a Quicky Stop in the bad section of town.
9. No complimentary breakfast or newspaper. Nearest paper rack is at Royal Restaurant.
10. ¾ mile walk from Braddock station to hotel.
11. Minimal counter space in bathroom.

Room Tip: if you want quite, get a room in the back of the horseshoe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rasalus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    37
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
20
32
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Great staff, very helpful, always available and offered suggestions for local spots. Economic, recently remodeled, clean and convenient location. Stayed for a week and felt at home. Will stay here again. Great rate for what we got. Complimentary coffee (keurig), cable & wifi. Fridge and micro in room were nice for saving $ instead of paying for many meals out. Six blocks walk to metro train, King St. shopping and dining, and one train stop (Braddock station) away from Reagan airport. Lobby with ice machine, brochures and maps were helpful for us. Cons: outside is deceiving, the back side of the building looks shady, but it is safe and the room was really nice. Only complaint was the shower was not as hot as the sink, not sure why.

Room Tip: Business rooms preferred over local rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I got a discounted rate of $68 plus tax per night for two people in a clean room with King bed, Keurig coffee maker, microwave, dorm fridge, lit on site parking, and centrally located in Old Town. Unbelievable value! 5 minute walk to the Torpedo Factory, Potomac River, and all the shopping and restaurants of Old Town. 10-15 minutes to King Street Metro. We asked to extend our stay here for another night; it's so near DC, yet not noisy! Keep a close eye on your little ones - faces a busy road. SUPER easy access - 10 easy minutes - to all the Smithsonian museums! The Visitor center on lower King St. will give out of state drivers a parking pass for Old Town; be sure to get one. There are parks all along the Potomac where kids can run around and play.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I was leery at first because the room was inexpensive, there were not many cars in the free onsite parking and the office was a little run down, but I was pleasantly surprised once I entered my large room. It was clean and the bathroom was very nice. The two queen beds were extremely comfortable and the kitchen area, equipped with microwave, fridge and Keurig, was all I needed for my snowed in, 3 night stay. The owners shoveled the sidewalk outside my door in the morning and knocked on my door to see if I needed more towels or coffee since the maids could not make it in. If you need luxury, don't stay here. But if you just want a comfortable place to stay close to everything, by all means, don't be afraid to book this place. I will certainly stay here again, next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank downsizedandlovinit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We just got home after spending three nights at the Towne Motel. As many other reviewers have said, it's nothing fancy, but the room was perfectly clean and comfortable. The neighborhood is lovely, and it's about a five-block walk to the Metro station, King Street in Old Town or the park system that runs along the Potomac. For budget travelers, the fridge and microwave are a big plus, especially with two grocery stores (Giant and Trader Joe's) within a couple of blocks. The only drawback is that if you don't want to hang out in your room, there's noplace right at the motel where you can sit outside. (The rooms open onto a balcony, but it's not a pleasant place to hang out. You can walk a couple of blocks to the plaza of the building where Trader Joe's and Starbucks are, or go a little farther to find a bench along the river.) Considering the high price of nearly all accommodations in the D.C. area, though, I'd say this is a very good choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Loves2Walk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very simple but very comfortable, clean and quiet room with king size bed, desk and office chair, small kitchen corner with a Keurig coffee machine and very clean bathroom.
A few blocks from downtown Alexandria and its very good restaurants on King street and 10 minutes walk from the Metro to downtown Washington, DC.
Recommended in our favorite travel guide, we were not disappointed at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elisabeth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I picked this place because it was close to a place that I had to attend for a meeting. The location was not bad close to water and sites and price was great. The rooms are nice and looked renovated but the TV was old and dull picture. I woke of in the AM with bites on my arms and legs and looked like bed bugs got me. So be careful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank pin2ver2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
#19 of 52 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton Morrison House
#15 of 52 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 stars 671 reviews
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Towne Motel Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Towne Motel Alexandria

Property: Towne Motel Alexandria
Address: 808 N Washington St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1720 (Formerly Best Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Towne Motel Alexandria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Towne Motel is centrally located near some of Washington D.C.'S best sites such as The White House, Arlington National Cemetery, The Pentagon, Lincoln Memorial, Washington Convention Center, Georgetown University and Andrews Air Force Base. The Towne Motel offers guests FREE High-speed Wireless Internet access, In-Room Keurig K-Cup Coffee Makers, Refrigerator, Microwave, Hair dryer, Iron & board, Direct TV with Showtime and ESPN. Free Parking. All Non-Smoking rooms. Unfortunately, pets are not accepted at this location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Towne Motel Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towne Motel Alexandria Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing