We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place”

Torpedo Factory Art Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.00*
and up
Old Town Alexandria Night Photography Tour from Washington D.C.
Ranked #3 of 88 things to do in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Art in Person and in Progress. Located in Old Town Alexandria, the Torpedo Factory Art Center is home to 150+ working artists, 6 galleries, The Art League, and the Alexandria Archaeology Museum.
Suisun City, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I so enjoyed browsing the many studios and galleries. There is such a variety of art and craft, certainly something for everyone interested in art. You can meet and observe the artists at work or just browse the galleries. It is mostly priced reasonably. The factory is right on the waterfront. There is also a store as part of the complex that is eclectic in its clothing and odds and ends for purchase. A very enjoyable place.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TaskImpossible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    257
    76
    9
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
254 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Creative artists galore”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Lots of great studios fill the nooks and crannies of this building. Some very creative ideas are being applied to art. Many artists are friendly and the work for sale spans the spectrum from well-done to quirky to super fun.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SFOPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You could stay all day browsing and still not see everything.”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I absolutely love going to the Torpedo Factory Art Center. There is so much so look at and lust after!! I am not artistic at all so I marvel at the talent and creativity on display. They have wonderful art appreciation and training programs for the community too. I traveled from Atlanta to attend the recent Patrons' Art Show which is so much fun. (Check their website for info.) Love Rose and Suzanne in the Gallery too!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Art Experience”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I love the torpedo factory. I love the concept. It's basically a shopping mall for art. Each mini-gallery is different from the next and you never know what you may find. While it is good to see the masters in downtown DC's galleries. There is something more exciting about seeing art being created locally. It reminds you that art isn't just history.

I have purchased a couple of things here. But I always find myself wanting to find something else. I haven't found the piece that reaches out and grabs me just yet. But I know I will find it someday. In the mean-time, I'll take one of those quirky puzzles, please.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank robo1814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Visual Arts Festival”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The Torpedo Factory in Old Town is like having a permanent festival for the visual arts. It is a multi level building in what was an old torpedo factory on the Potomac River that houses artists displaying their works for sale as well as an art school. Wonderful display from local talented artists, sculptors, and crafts people.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank lovesdogs101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torpedo Factory Art Center also viewed

 

Been to Torpedo Factory Art Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing