We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Men will dislike this lookalike shopping village!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Town

Old Town
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.00*
and up
Private Half Day Narrated Washington DC Tour
Ranked #1 of 87 things to do in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Quaint old seaport section of Alexandria on the National Register of Historic Places.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Men will dislike this lookalike shopping village!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

First, I shall warn you that parking is nonexistent. Second, with only one or two exceptions, there is nothing here that you cannot see in other similar quaint shopping areas--Georgetown, Newport, parts of Boston etc. Third, ladies, your husbands will hate this! Cutesy shops, expensive boutiques, crowds of people. Drive through here so you can tell people you visited Old Town, but unless you are a resident and can walk everywhere, there isn't any reason to make a stop here.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Pennfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,444
    646
    105
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

The free trolly is great.
My only warning is that most of the service people around this area are not native English speakers, and this has been a problem.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Historyteachertrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Traveled up and down Alexandria in old town was just a nice fun place to be weather on the waterfront or walking down the street to see shops and all the different types of resturants.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nocona, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Walk or take the Trolley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

There's so much to see in Old Town...galleries and shops, and just watching the people pass by was fun! Our feet were killing us from walking on the uneven brick and cobblestone sidewalks, so we were happy to be able to hop on the Trolley to find a good dinner spot just down King Street from our hotel. It felt like a little taste of American History, and was easy to imagine finely dressed ladies and gents strolling the walks in early American times (unfortunately, what you'll see is folks in shorts and tank tops...but that's what makes people-watching fun!). We'll come here again when we have more time to explore!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank stingerjeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, Kentucky
Level Contributor
257 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“great way to spend the day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Tons of restaurants, bars, shops and has a trolley to take you up and down King Street. We loved the harbor area and spent a lot of time in the Torpedo factory.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kentucky_Kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Town also viewed

 

Been to Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing