We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Nightlife”
Review of Old Town

Old Town
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.00*
and up
Private Half Day Narrated Washington DC Tour
Ranked #1 of 88 things to do in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Quaint old seaport section of Alexandria on the National Register of Historic Places.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun Nightlife”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Walked down the whole strip from the metro... next time I'll take a bus. Ate at the Fish Market, Bought a cigar at a shop below the Cigar Bar, and then into the Cigar Bar which had a good band playing. I caught a last call at another place downstairs somewhere? It was cool too... from what I remember. Cabs are lined up to safely get you home at a decent price. If you like unique shopping, good restaurants, and fun nightlife. Get off the Metro at King St.!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank topcity0024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,459
    652
    106
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California, United States
Level Contributor
200 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Love that old town feel”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had lots of fun just walking around looking at the old buildings. The water front has a art gallery. There are plenty of places to eat and shop. The town is rich in history. Make sure you visit at night as well as the day time. The lights and the shops are beautiful. A part of the original cobble stone streets are still intact. The colonial architecture is amazing.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnEllis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Old Town - A great place to sightsee, dining & shopping.”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My wife, son & I visited Old Town this past August. It was a great place to visit. Lots of historical attractions, great shops and also great restaurants that offer any types of dining. The free shuttle was a very convenient way to get around. If you visit D.C. you must take a quick Metro ride to Old Town. You will enjoy it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
167 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Nice Stroll”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed our walk from the Metro Station down to the Waterfront and back,just a perfect day.Plenty of interesting stores and restaurants to check out,lots of great architecture,also enjoyed just sitting down by the water.As a man,my only complaint was not enough shops to hold my interest,no sporting memorabilia store,no golf shop,no historical books,no electronic gadgets,not too much male stuff.Otherwise it was a very enjoyable day.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tojo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ambiance of old town”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I love all of the hustle and bustle and all of the quaint shops. One of my favorites is the Spice and Tea Exchange.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rose58277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Town also viewed

 

Been to Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing