We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great shops and restaurants!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Town

Old Town
Book In Advance
$95*
and up
Private Narrated Washington DC Tour
Ranked #1 of 80 things to do in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Quaint old seaport section of Alexandria on the National Register of Historic Places.
Tyrone, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great shops and restaurants!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Free Trolley up and down King Street and to the train station. 22 minute train ride with stops in to DC.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,962 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,272
    582
    97
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Middlebury, Vermont
Level Contributor
121 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Good for a Stroll”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Old Town Alexandria is a very charming place for a walk. We were glad we started at the tourist information office, because you can buy a "Key to the City" coupon book that pays for itself if you go to only a couple of places. It's got historic sites, restaurant and shopping coupons. The Old Town has a lot of interesting stores mixed in with a fair number of historic places worth seeing. They included a wonderful old pharmacy, a couple of house museums, churches, as well as antique stores and gift shops. It's a lot of fun.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JMA07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fun to visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We live just an hour from Alexandria and try to visit a couple times during the year. This year we were able to see the President's Day and St. Patrick's Day Parades. Great fun! Weekends (especially in warmer weather) do bring out the crowds. Go during the week if you are able. We have enjoyed picnic lunches by the Potomac. There are great shops and great food. And Old Town oozes charm.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank happythreesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, Connecticut
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Reminded us of our beloved Boston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

After coming to DC 1-2 times a year for a decade or so, we decided to branch out a little. Just a few stops away from our favorite hotel, Old Town can be reached easily on the yellow/blue line heading south from Crystal City. From there, it is a maybe a mile or so walk to the waterfront. Along the way there is a myriad of shops and restaurants lining the brick sidewalks. There is a free trolley-bus if you just can't walk the whole way. (Don't forget to peak down the side streets. We found some of the best architecture to view and some great restaurants a few blocks off King Street.) At the waterfront there is a nice marina area and an art gallery in an old torpedo factory. Even late at night, musicians were playing on the street, many shops were open, and the bars and restaurants were active. Old Town is a great retreat from the same-old of DC. It reminded us of one of other favorite towns, Boston!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank X-countryGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Evenings out - great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Super time on the FREE trolley to see the Old Town and eat. Great people on the street, safe streets and great food

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DeaB323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing