We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel! - No bed bugs here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel! - No bed bugs here!”
Reviewed April 11, 2010

After we booked this room, we noticed the claim from 2/16/10, that a guest experienced bed bugs in this hotel. We got nervous and investigated. Per a 3rd party report, there were no bed bugs found in the room. In fact, a second party was reportedly staying with the bed bugs claimant without symptoms. We decided that due to the price and location, we would stay here anyway. We couldn't be happier! The room is spacious, clean and comfortable. The heating/cooling system is quiet (in contrast with the same 2/16 review). The kitchen was extremely convenient for preparing our own breakfast, coffee and to pack a lunch. A Whole Foods is located ~1 block away and perfect for shopping after arrival. The Metro is a quick 5 minute walk. Dinner options are plentiful in Alexandria and all within walking distance or a short trolley ride. We will definitely be back to this fabulous location. Thank you Marriott!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTandTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    226
    68
    10
    5
See reviews for
289
175
39
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

We were checked in quickly and courteously by staff. Somehow they didn't notice we had a child in the group until we were on our way up in the elevator. The manager was so nice, he literally ran up the stairs and met us at our door to give the child a welcome gift! Very nice and very unexpected. This is the perfect place to stay with kids. The rooms are large (two televisions!). The pool has a lifeguard. The room comes with a very kid friendly breakfast. Ideal spot. Easy walking distance to the metro and Old Town. To a person the staff was very friendly and very polite. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank cmcfong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

I stayed at this Residence Inn when I came to Alexandria for a wedding (it was the hotel chosen by the bride and groom for out-of-town guests). I thought the location was great - close to Old Town and the King Street Metro station. The rooms were spacious and reasonably priced. The staff was very friendly/helpful and check-in/out was extremely efficient. My only complaint was the bed sagged a little in the middle, causing us to keep rolling to the middle and bumping into each other. But other than that, if you get a good rate, I would absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nekobaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valpo100
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

We stayed here 5 nights with our 2 children (9 and 12) for a visit to DC. I chose the hotel based on blind faith in other reviews and mapquest. The hotel exceeded all our expectations. I reserved the smallest room to save on money and had even contacted the hotel to see if they could do better with the rate. Although they were not able to lower our rate, we were pleased to learn the hotel had upgraded us to a larger room upon our arrival. Good start.

The breakfasts were good with a slight variation each morning and included fresh fruit, waffles, eggs,.... We were also surprised to learn of the free weekday dinners. We took full advantage each evening. With dinner out of the way and costing nothing extra it left us with the time and means to patronize quaint Old Town Alexandria or return to DC. The hotel shuttle was always available to pick up and drop off around Old Town, and our driver was well informed on the local history and eateries.

The hotel was a quick walk to the King Street train station where we purchased a one week passes and used every day. We never had to wait over 6 minutes for the train, and it was always a short ride into and out of DC. Couldn't have been easier. We only took our car out once to visit Mount Vernon only about 10 miles away.

The room, corridors, pool, lobby were all clean and the staff was very accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valpo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2010

We travel with two small, very active kids. It is awesome, although expensive, to be able to tuck them into bed in a separate room. It's also terrific to have a small kitchen and some room to spread out when we're on vacation, since the kids are in bed early, and my husband and I aren't. We're big fans of Residence Inns, and this particular hotel is one of the nicest we've stayed in. There's the usual bland art and hotel furniture, but this one at least had some genuine color splashed on the upholstery and walls. Nice lamps. Kitchen is small, but hey, I'm not here to cook Thanksgiving dinner. Location is terrific for Old Alexandra. Short walk through lovely old residential area gets you right to the shops and restaurants. Two blocks to the Metro. Two blocks to Whole Foods. It's perfect for our four & six years olds.

Pool is nice, clean, and great for the kids. Staff has been unfailingly helpful. Garage is as secure as Fort Knox. I'm a stickler for clean and this room was scrubbed clean. Not sure (review below) what was going on in Room 817, but we're in Room 810 and no bugs, no dirt, no stray hairs, no bathroom scum. It's been quiet up here on the 8th floor. As noted below in some of the reviews, the HVAC IS pretty loud, but my husband snores, the hotel is near the street, and I just look at it as white noise ensuring me a good night of sleep. In fact, one of the bedrooms has windows around two sides and I'm kinda of grateful 1. for the great view (can see the Washington Monument) and 2. for the noise drowning out the street sounds.

Only downsides? The breakfast area gets pretty crazy, just like most Residence Inns. When oh when will hotels get good coffee? There's not a coffee shop hearby, and the coffee is the rooms is brown water. Blankets are a little thin, but the beds are super comfy.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Furcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2010

This was only the second time I had stayed at a Residence Inn although I always stay at Marriott hotels. The hotel is in the perfect location for the local area of Old Town Alexandria. The room was great, clean, and full of amenities. I really enjoyed the two flat screen TVs, the separate bedroom. the comfortable recliner, and just the whole package. Although I didn't partake of the free managers welcome dinner, it did look quite good. Breakfast was amazing and fully stocked with everything you could want. The staff was great with recommending places to eat and pointing them out on the map. There is also a hotel shuttle to take where you need to go. The only thing I could possibly complain about was the power outage that took place while I was there but can no way blame that on the hotel management or staff.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GOVtravelerNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2010

My stay at the residence inn marriott in alexandria old town Virginia was completely amazing. I come to washington dc every year and i have experienced several hotel chains/rooms and by far no one surpasses this hotel! Things that i appreciated was the secure parking garage, elevators, laundry rooms, and fitness room that are only accesible from room key. Your security is put to ease! also the hotel staff were soo extremely respectful, and at your service 24/7 with a smile. There is free shuttle from hotel to whereever you need to go. We are .5 mile from the metro station yet its location remains quiet. The continental breakfast was amazing and a lot of choices. It tastes great and was offered for a great amount of time. the room itself (mine was a single bed room) is truely spacious, clean, and comes with the comforts of home (dishwasher, garbage disposal, full fridge/freezer, real dishes and cookware, stove, flat screen tv, king size bed and pull out bed, dinnette table and office desk). the only things i could "complain about" would be.. there is no counter space within the bathroom itself.. there is a spacious vanity area outside of the actual bathroom though but its hard to have a place to put your things unless you want to use the back of the toilet. Also there is no change machine in the laundry room, you must have your own or get your change made at the front desk. Other than that..;. it was a perfect wonderful amazing experience and i recommend this hotel to EVERYONE..... you wont be disappointed!!! Any photos this hotel shows you online of the rooms is exactly what you get... its a great price.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cweekly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,422 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,271 reviews
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Property: Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Address: 1456 Duke St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing