We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, comfortable, close to Metro -- A great place all around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Nice, comfortable, close to Metro -- A great place all around”
Reviewed June 23, 2009

I stayed here for 7 nights in June 2009 with my husband and our teenage son. Our one-bedroom accommodations worked out well. My son slept on the pull-out sofa and it was fairly comfortable. The bathroom was only accessible by going through the bedroom. The tub/shower and toilet were in a separate room, and the sink/vanity just outside the bathroom, between there and the bedroom area.

It was nice to have the kitchen with a full-sized refrigerator and microwave. The maid ran the dishwasher every day, even if it only held one glass and a couple pieces of silverware! I put all our recycling (newspapers, pop cans, plastic) in a bag by the door and it was taken every day, and (I hope) recycled.

There were two TVs. The living room area had a stuffed chair and ottoman in addition to the sofa. There was a desk with wired internet access. We brought two laptop PCs, so I also brought a small wireless router, which I hooked up to the ethernet wire, so we could run both PCs.

Some things that would have been nice to have: one or two folding luggage racks (the only place to put suitcases was on the floor), and a fan in the bathroom (it got very hot and steamy).

The room was very quiet, and I never heard other guests nextdoor or upstairs. Sometimes I heard people walking by in the hall and talking.

Out our window I could see the cemetary behind the hotel, so one evening I walked over there to explore. It's old and historic, with some of the headstones falling over, but interesting to look around if you're fascinated by things like that.

We took advantage of the free breakfast every morning, but never made it back in time for the evening food. The breakfast foods included: scrambled eggs, sausage (only two times), Belgian waffles with syrup or strawberries, oatmeal, bagels, mini muffins, biscuits (with sausage gravy one day), fresh cut up fruit, whole pieces of fruit (bananas, apples, oranges), 3 kinds of unsweetened cold cereal, a couple kinds of yogurt, granola, apple & orange juice, coffee, hot water for tea or cocoa.

I used the guest laundry on the 2nd floor, and was impressed with it. $1.00 to wash and $1.00 to dry. There were 6 washers and 10 dryers, laundry sink, machine selling detergent, a couple small tables with chairs, and a TV. It was very clean. The washers and dryers only took quarters, so it would have been nice to have a change machine. I went to the front desk and got quarters for change.

During our stay we went to my cousin's house for dinner. We had bought a couple bottles of wine to take there, and accidentally left it on the bench outside the front of the hotel. When we got to his house, we realized we had left it, so I called the front desk. The guy at the desk put me on hold, went out front, and came back on the phone to tell me he had the bag with the wine, and would hold it for me at the front desk. I was impressed that no one had stolen it, and that he was willing to go find it for me!

The King Street Metro station was an easy 2 (long) block walk away. We took Metro into DC all but one day of our stay, and found it super convenient and easy to navigate. It was nice to be able to come back to the hotel after a day walking all over DC seeing the sights, freshen up and rest for a while, then walk up to King Street and take the free trolley to Old Town for dinner. There are lots of restaurants and shops in Old Town. While it would also have been nice to stay right in DC for the convenience of being close to everything, for the price I think the Residence Inn Old Town was a good alternative, and was only about a 30-minute Metro ride away from DC.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meginoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    225
    68
    10
    5
See reviews for
289
174
39
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2009

My husband and I traveled with our 17 year old son for 7 nights to visit DC. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite which worked out great. We had our own space. The room had everything we needed. The location is great -- as others have said, it's only 2 blocks from the Metro but it's also nice to be able to stroll down King Street to see Old Town Alexandria. There is a Whole Foods only a block away that we used several times for dinner since after walking around all day in DC we were too tired to really go out for fancy dinners. But if you're interested there were many restaurants on King Street. Also on Monday -Thursday the hotel has a cocktail hour with some food (not huge selection however so we never ate there in the evening). The breakfast was very good for a hotel breakfast -- more than just continental with enough selection to make everyone happy (son had a homemade waffle every morning). I would defintely recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy-STLMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2009

This is one of the nicest Residence Inn' s I have stayed in. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and breakfast was excellent

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2009

My wife and I took our 11 year old granddaughter to see D.C. for the first time. We found the Residence Inn Alexandria based on TA reviews(thanks everyone!!). We did not want to mortgage our house for a hotel in D.C. so we decided to stay outside Washington. We stayed seven nights. The staff is wonderful, every single one of them. We booked a studio but were upgraded to a one bedroom unit (we're Marriott Rewards members). The room was spotless, very quiet and perfect for our needs. Lots of closet and drawer space. Kitchen was perfect. Small indoor lap pool great for kids(big and small). Laundry/dryer available for 1$ per load. Large breakfast area with plenty of seating. Great hot and cold breakfast selections-some items vary day to day. Mom thru Thur small meals are availabel until 7:30pm (burgers, sausages, small pizza, salad etc - items vary by night). This was great after touring D.C. all day. Also included are two glasses pp of wine or beer. We intended to eat out some nights but we never had the energy to go out again. So on non-hotel dinner nights we went to Whole Foods (2 blocks) or Safeway (via hotel van) and brought back things to microwave (two burner stove also available). Small "market" available in hotel. Restaurants also close by hotel or via van to Old Town. Their van will take you anywhere within one mile of hotel. Example, they dropped us off at Safeway and picked us up 20 minutes later. The Metro is an easy two block walk. Depending on where you go in D.C., the Metro ride is 20-30 minutes, although DCA, and Arlington are only several stops away. Guests included people on business, couples w/o kids and families. We received a better hotel rate from Marriott's 800 # then from their website or other hotel booking websites. They have a split rate-less expensive Thur-Mon. The only recommendation to Marriott is to replace carpeting in elevators and dining area. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve_5581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2009

We stayed at The Residence for 5 days immediately prior to Memorial Day and cannot recommend it highly enough. Very easy to find with on site parking and shuttle bus to downtown Alexandria. 5 minute walk from Metro for access into DC. Rooms spacious and well equipped - staff could not be more welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was a bonus - hot / cold selection. Alexandria is beautiful - have previously stayed at the Sheraton Suites in Alexandria but am now converted to Residence Inn.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LincolnshireWendywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2009

We had a very nice three night stay here at a great rate. The room was very clean and the carpet and furniture looked fairly new. They are very creative in the breakfast area in the way they make use of every available space for sitting. This came in handy since it was crowded. We made use of the van service in going out to dinner. It worked out well for us - we did not use it for the return (we walked). The people at the front desk are very friendly.

My only complaint (and this may seem minor for some) is when you get off the elevator they do not have signs indicating where your room is located. Since this is a large hotel, going down the wrong hallway with all your luggage can be frustrating.

We had a room in the back so it was quiet. There construction on Duke Street. I would ask if this is completed or request a room in the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franny19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2009

We had a great stay at the Residence Inn. The staff was so helpful and nice. They really make you feel welcome here. The room was spacious and we got an incredible rate for the weekend – less than $100, which is unheard of in D.C. Parking was easy, the free breakfast was better than we expected – lots of hot dishes like waffles, eggs and even really yummy home fries that put many diners to shame. The lobby area was large and comfortable and the location of the hotel can’t be beat – walking distance to King Street and all its shopping and restaurants and the metro is a few blocks away. There were only a few negatives to report: the free wireless is only available on the first two floors, so you have to go to the lobby to use the wireless, but in the rooms, they do have an internet cable to plug your computer directly into the wall, so if you have just one computer, you’re all set, but because we both had our computers with us, only one could use it at a time. However, if we both had to be on at the same time, it wasn’t too much to go down to the lobby to use the wireless, so just a minor inconvenience and the beds are pretty hard (suggestion to the hotel: invest in a few mattress pads!) but neither negative was enough to cancel out all the other positives. Overall it was a wonderful stay and we’d stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank writtenbyheidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,395 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,247 reviews
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Property: Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Address: 1456 Duke St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing