We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, convenient to DC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2009

Very nice place. We stayed here for three reasons: (1) close to DC (2) pet friendly and (3) indoor pool. Oh yeah, also because the reviews were good. Overall very good value. Stayed here from 4/9-4/12 with wife, 3 kids and a dog. The 1 bedroom suite was a little small for 6 of us (including pooch), but it was only $90. The pet fee was quite steep at $150, but it would cost that much at a kennel for three nights. Location was very convenient. The negatives - very small pool and dishwasher ran but didn't clean dishes. Oh well.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAtraveler999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (755)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

682 - 688 of 755 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2009

This is a typical Mariott Residence Inn. Very well run. Relatively clean but not spotless. There was no mold, dirt, grime, dust. The room was large. There was a kitchenette including a 1/2 stove, refrigerator, microwave, full cookware.

The parking was $15 a day - ouch - but safe and plentiful. They didn't charge me for the last day. Also, we left our car there while walking around old-town.

It's close to the Metro for exploring DC. It's a bit of walking down King Street towards the water, but a free trolley will bring you home (or take you there, but we walked each day downtown).

I'm not sure why this is given 5 stars by many people. It's a good basic - upper middle end (or lower upper end hotel) -- not fancy sheets nor carpeting - no flat panel TVs - no super fancy drapery. Also, it can be a bit pricey - around $250 a night. The pool is small. The fitness area is acceptable. No restaurant on premises - an 'okay' place is next door. It's on a bit of a busy road - but close to King Street.

You won't be disappointed if you stay here -- but a '5 star' should "Wow!" me -- this is a "Very Nice".

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sand_ca_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2009

Found this to be a truly outstanding property with great facilities, (including the fitness center and pool) and a great staff. The hotel is well situated near the Metro and Old Town and is clean, modern, and well maintained. The daily breakfast offers something for everyone and from Monday to Thursday, the hotel hosts a reception which provides the equivalent of a dinner with drinks. The only negative is the $15 daily charge for parking, which given the area, I suppose is to be expected. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would return to this hotel in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sid2140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2009

I stayed at the Residence Inn for 4 nights around the Inaguration. Despite being at capacity, we got the room we requested (a one bedroom suite on a high floor away from the elevator). The room was huge, with 2 flat screen TVs and a really nice side kitchen with a full size fridge, 2 burner cooktop and sink and dishwasher.

The hotel is about a 5 walk (3 blocks) to the metro stop (King Street Station). It's not that far, but it was about 19 degrees outside when we went so it was a pretty chilly walk. There is a Hilton and an Embassy Suites closer to the metro station BUT some of the rooms are actually right next to the metro line, so we thought it might be kind of noisy. I prefer the location of the Residence Inn since it was close enough to easily get to the metro stop, but not so close that it might keep you up at night!

The Whole Foods is about a block away which was nice. I went to La Porta's (the restaurant next door) for lunch one day and it was good, a little pricey, but good quality food.

I would definitely stay here again, it only took about 10-15 minutes on the metro to get into downtown DC, so easy!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelJunkie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2009

My husband and I went to DC for my birthday in 2007, and we almost stayed in the heart of DC...until we read all the glowing reviews about the Residence Inn. We loved Alexandria, and the awesome hotel staff took us into town to eat and shop via the courtesy shuttle. We even walked to Whole Foods for wine and dessert and snacks! The train into DC was a little bit of a walk, but not too bad. The courtesy shuttle can take you to the station if you'd like. The dining room is great for breakfast, and one night we were so tired we had a perfectly fine free dinner! there, instead of going out to eat. It was a great touch to have monthly menus and activities posted in our room. Nice room, nice staff, nice location. We'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KRC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2009

Beautiful hotel, service and staff. Two city blocks to Metro DC subway. Old Town is beautiful section to go eat and stroll around.
This Residence Inn is awesome!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JenDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

This is a great property if you want to "do" DC and Old Town. Close to Metro and shuttle bus is a very nice feature to get to the bottom of King Street for the Old Town experience. The staff was excellent and very friendly. This is a very clean and comfortable property. I would highly recommend it to anyone!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,452 reviews
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,290 reviews
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Address: 1456 Duke St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: $125 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing