We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Convenient and Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Hopatcong, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Convenient and Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Stayed here for a week in July for business. The front desk was helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet had the normal choices, seemed to have enough food for everyone. The rooms were nice, kitchen had what you needed and the bed was a normal comfy Marriott bed. The location was very convenient in Old Town, a few blocks from the Metro and King Street. This is nice family friendly hotel in the DC area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fedtraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Hello fedtraveler66,

Thank you for staying with us in July of this year. You picked a great summer from a weather perspective. It has been beautiful and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again should your travels bring you back to the Alexandria Old Town area in the future.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    205
    64
    10
    5
See reviews for
251
149
37
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel and were very happy with the service and accommodations. The check-in process was very smooth and the front desk personnel on all the shifts were very courteous and knowledgeable about the area.

Our one-bedroom suite was very clean and very nicely appointed. The only thing I didn't like was the sink / vanity in the bedroom instead of the bathroom.

Like so many other reviewers we made the five-minute walk to the King Street Metro Station, where we were able to take the train into DC for an afternoon. Since we had a car we also drove over to National Harbor, which was literally only 10 minutes away!

I thought the hotel parking was a little expensive at $22 per day but not enough to keep me from returning.

There is also a very nice jazz bar right next door to the hotel. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CTPatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Hello CT Patrick,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent experience at our hotel. We were glad to read that you enjoyed the property and all of the great options and access that Old Town Alexandria has to offer. We hope to see you again in the future.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa
Level Contributor
254 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed here for two nights during a visit to the D.C. area. The room was very comfortable, although we really did not use the kitchen. There are too many good restaurants within walking distance to the hotel. The location is close to the King Street Metro, so it is easy to get into Washington D.C. Our room was quiet. The breakfast was the typical Mariott breakfast. The breakfast room was rather crowded, so it was easier to take everything up to the room. We would stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wildwoodatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Wilwoodatheart,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent visit to our hotel. The accessibility that the property offers to Old Town Alexandria and DC is also one of my favorite features. Please let me know if I can ever be of assistance with a future stay. We hope to see you again.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed at the Residence Inn while taking two grandchildren on a tour of Washington DC. Great location, convenient to Metro, walking distance to old Town Alexandria, comfortable accommodations, excellent breakfast, pleasant and helpful staff. They have a free shuttle that will take you wherever within a certain radius. We asked to be taken to the Torpedo Factory - a little outside our walking radius after a full day - and on the way the helpful driver detoured - unasked - to take us by the recreation of the townhouse used by George Washington when he couldn't get out to Mt Vernon. A delightful and unexpected bonus.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Tommy G,

We hope your travels back to Florida went well and appreciate you allowing us an opportunity to host you and your grandchildren for what sounds like a memorable experience in our nation's capital. Thank you also for sharing the kind words and story about our shuttle driver. We will be recognizing him with the entire team to ensure everyone is aware of his extra touch that he provided you and your family. We hope to see you again in the future should be plan a return visit to the Washington DC area.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I stayed at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town on June 24. On check-in, I found the front staff to be very friendly, and helpful when I asked for directions to a specific street address.

The room seemed just about new, and the full kitchen had plenty of glasses, dishes, pots and pans, and silverware. The kitchen table was comfortable, and had plenty of room for working an reading.

The wi-fi was snappy. The room was quiet.

The location was great for access to the highway, and to the main thoroughfare in Old Town, which is King Street.

There is a parking garage on-site, which costs $22. The garage has a level that has direct access to the hotel.

My only complaint was that the couch in the living room was uncomfortable. The cushions caved in and deflated as soon as I sat on them. That was a bit disappointing and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerNyack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear RogerNyack,

Thank you for sharing your feedback concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We were glad to read that you enjoyed your experience and found our hotel to be clean, the staff friendly and that you had great access to King Street/Old Town. If I can ever be of assistance with a future stay please do not hesitate to contact me.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia PA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Took our grandson to see DC
We were welcomed back by the Hotel Front Desk staff; Tenitia & Nadjet are
so gracious & professional. They took special effort to greet our grandson
and we appreciated that. Our visit was great - the hotel remains our very
favorite. It is not only clean and comfortable but once again it is the
hotel staff that make it so appealing. Everyone is just so nice and helpful
Mekonen , our van driver, is always so personable and does a great job
of helping us get around town. The food service staff do a wonderful job
& we always look forward to seeing Netle each time we return. She is great
Proximity of the Metro station is real plus. King Street is so close and the
Waterfront offers the option of reaching DC by water taxi which takes us to Georgetown -
from there, the heart of DC is a simple $1.00 Circulator Bus fee.
We go over to DC by the Metro train and come back on the water taxi - a most
enjoyable cruise on a summer evening.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a terrific view. From high front rooms you can see the Washington Monument. Hotel i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rmcPhiladelphiaPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hello rmcPhiladelphiaPA,

Thank you so much for the kind words about our team. I am looking forward to sharing this with them all during our daily team meeting (Huddle as we call it). We appreciate you allowing us to have an opportunity to be a part of your special experience with your grandson. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance in the future and we hope to see you again when your plans bring you back to the DC area.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel needs a refurbishment as it doesn't look as though it has been updated and decorated for a while. However, we still enjoyed our stay. The room was huge, with a lounge area and kitchenette.

Location is good. Five mins walk to King Street Metro to go into DC (doesn't take too long). Alexandria itself is lovely. Found some great restaurants and shops on and around King Street. Free trolley bus is good too, an easy way to get down to the busier parts of the town.

Breakfast was nothing special, but was included, which was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellieque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hello Elliequie,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with our hotel. We are glad that you found the suites to be spacious and appreciate the feedback concering the decor. We hope to see you again in the future.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#8 of 52 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 1,094 reviews
Old Town
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Eisenhower East
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Property: Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Address: 1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing