We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Nearby Hotels
$112
$105
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$123
$116
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $154/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$112
$89
SpringHill Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of $127/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$109
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Alexandria Mark Center(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$112
$105
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$97
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Colony Inn Alexandria(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$119
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $160/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Alexandria Old Town(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$111
$98
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$136
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (810)
Filter reviews
810 results
Traveler rating
479
242
73
11
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
479
242
73
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhole foodstwo blocksking streetold townfull kitchenmetro stationone bedroom suitedc areagrocery shoppingwafflesstove topfree breakfastmile radiusthree blockshotel shuttlefree shuttleshops and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
376 - 381 of 810 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Comfortable rooms, great staff, great location. When I can't get into the King Street Hilton, this is the place to stay. The Residence Inn is only a couple of blocks from the King Street Metro and backs up the historic Alexandria National Cemetery (and great place for a historical walk). The rooms are really comfortable and spacious, a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river on a high floor
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LIV2FLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Good Day LIV2FLY. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us here in Alexandria. We are glad to hear that you enjo staying at our property when you travel to Old Town and hope that we may become your number one choice in the future. I am also personally glad to see that you were able to take advantage and explore the original National Cemetary which is located behind our property as it really is a piece of our Nation's history.

Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I kept returning to this hotel because it was reliably clean and had decent suites and breakfast, with a good location. BUT, no more. the past two times, the internet was not working and they apologized - "sorry, but we are fixing it".
Today, I just checked in and overheard desk clerk speaking with another guest explaining that they were WORKING TO FIX IT. I was assured it would be up and running soon. NOPE. the ethernet cable connection works, even though the connection is sometimes lost, but the cable is short. no internet in lobby.
Also, I requested several more blankets, which arrived very quickly, BUT they opened the room without knocking!! just walked right in!
I will try another hotel next trip.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rablaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIOldTownManager, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Thank you for the comments and review of our hotel. I appreciate all feedback.

I sincerely apologize about your experiences with our internet access. There was an evening where the entire network crashed on the East Coast. I admit it bothered us as much as it bothered our guests. When you agreed to stay with us again, we made a commitment to you to provide memorable service. Quite obviously, we did not deliver this promise.

I am embarrassed to learn of the staff entering the room abruptly. That is beneath our standards and will not be tolerated. I am so sorry for this intrusion.

I welcome a chance to resolve this with you on a more personal level. I welcome a phone call or email (703-310-3040 or ri.wasdk.gm@marriott.com).

I hope to hear from you.

Mike Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Within walking distance form King Street Metro station, it provides lots of amenities (refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave), very comfortable bed, good quality hot breakfast bar with scrambled eggs and sausage, waffle station, oatmeal and parking in a garage. Wired or wireless internet connection is free. The reasons it does not get the 5th star is a worn-out desk chair and high adder for parking the car.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Good Day Henn R. Thank you so much for taking the time to share some of your feedback from your recent stay here at our Hotel in Old Town. We are so glad that you found our Hotel, its location, and our various ammenities to be just what you needed for a great stay here in Alexandria. I do want to apologize for the desk chair in you room and let you know we are actually in the process of replacing those chairs that are showing wear and I will personally work with our Housekeeping teams to continue to identify those chairs needing attention.

Thank you again so much for providing such wonderful insight on your stay and we hope you will join us again during your next visit to Alexandria.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This was a nice place to stay for a wedding. The hotel provided service to the venue but pick up was no later than 8:30 pm. We did take the trolley back and only had to walk a few blocks to the hotel from the trolley stop. Parking was as expected $18 a night. The rooms were a good size and clean. The bed was a "queen", but felt more like a double also very uncomfortable. For one night we made do but could not have done two. Thought about trying the sleeper sofa but from the looks of it we would not fair any better. All in all the staff was nice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Navywife25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Hi Navywife25. Thank you for providing such great feedback from your recent stay here at our Hotel for a wedding here in Old-Town. We are glad that you found our Hotel to an enjoyable place to stay while you were in town enjoying what I hope was a beautiful wedding. I apologize that the mattress did not provide you with an enjoyable nights sleep as that is the most important part of any Hotel stay.

As a Marriott Hotel we want to be sure any outstanding issues we have are addressed immediately. This being the case, if you so choose could you please reach out to the Hotel directly so we may determine which suite you stayed in and address the mattress accordingly.

I appreciate your assistance in advance and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you during your next visit to the DC/Alexandria area.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed here over the holiday season. The hotel is located in a great place in Old Town. You can walk or take the trolley to many places in Old Town. So that's wonderful. It's also very close to parks and the Metro. Perfect for visitors.
The downside, the hotel is old. There are basic renovations in the hotel. The lobby looks good and the hallways are nice. However, the furniture in the rooms is old and worn out. It is showing the years of use. It is basic furniture so, nothing fancy. The room itself is a nice size. We stayed in the 1 bedroom suite so we had a separation from the bedroom and the living area.
Parking at the hotel is about $20 a day. Be prepared for that cost if necessary.
The complimentary breakfast was a little above average. Despite the fact there aren't enough seats/tables.... the buffet offered many options. The taste of the food was bland, but they had many thing to choose from. One morning they even offered turkey sausage. Which can be hard to find on buffets. Go to breakfast early if you want a seat/table in the breakfast area. Otherwise be prepared to take it back to your room

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ereynihc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Good Day ereynihc. Thank you so much for sharing your feedback from your recent stay with us here at the Hotel. We are glad that you found our Hotel's location to be perfect for your visit and that it allowed for easy access to the great sites and sounds of Old-Town and the surrounding area. I do want to apologize that you found your suite to not be 100% to your satisfaction and ensure you we are working to keep our Hotel clean and comfortable until our next renovation. Thank you for your comments regarding our breakfast area as well. The team works very hard to ensure that we keep the buffet stocked with a variety of items which meet all tastes. Our breakfast does tend to get quite busy from time to time especially on the weekends and I apologize if we were not able to acommodate you with seating when you joined us.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback and we hope you will join us again during your next visit to the Alexandria area.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews