We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Nearby Hotels
$140
$104
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$107
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$132
$107
SpringHill Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $127/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$109
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $130/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Alexandria Mark Center(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$117
$105
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$119
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of $172/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$127
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $152/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$98
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Old Colony Inn Alexandria(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$114
$89
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (810)
Filter reviews
810 results
Traveler rating
479
242
73
11
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
479
242
73
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhole foodstwo blocksking streetold townfull kitchenmetro stationone bedroom suitedc areagrocery shoppingwafflesstove topfree breakfastmile radiusthree blockshotel shuttlefree shuttleshops and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
388 - 393 of 810 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We are loyal Marriott vacationers. Location for Old Town and shuttle to local businesses are a plus for this hotel, but the rooms were overly worn and badly in need of refurbishment. Chairs were splitting, cabinets in the kitchenette were chipped. Hotel was at least clean and breakfast was plentiful and constantly restocked with both hot and cold offerings. Compared to Crystal Cities for the same price, this hotel needs improvement. Probably will not select this location again unless specific destination was Old Towne. Otherwise there are much better offerings in same price range. Do like the suite space and refrigerator, but overall it is time for a makeover to bring it up to Marriott standards expected.

Room Tip: Room at end of hallway was relatively quiet. Elevator bank was noisy, so avoid.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeSheVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Hello JeSheVA. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay here at our Hotel. We are glad that you found our location for a visit to Old Towne to be enjoyable as well as the cleanliness of our suites and complementary breakfast each morning. I would like to apologize for the issues raised regarding the condition of your suite. As a Marriott Hotel, we work very diligently to ensure that our rooms meet all company and brand standards. The team here at the Hotel and I do apologize again that we failed to meet your expectations regarding the condition of our suite and will continue working to note and address issues such as those you mentioned.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you continue to choose Marriott during your travels.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I cannot say enough about this hotel and the amazing staff! The beds are extremely comfortable and plush bedding. The amount of space in the rooms are beyond standard size and it is in walking distance from all cute shops and great eats! I had the best trip! I would recommend this hotel to everyone! And the complimentary meals/drinks saved me a lot of money and were good.

Room Tip: Our business trip had different rooms and they were all great!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Good Day Candice S. Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your experiences during your recent stay at our Hotel. The team here are so happy you enjoyed your stay and found our suites to be comfortable and spacious and that our location allowed you to explore the wonderful Old-Town area.

We hope that you will join us again soon during your next visit to Alexandria.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This hotel is a typical residence inn with great large rooms. This property has a pool and laundry.
The location is great if you are looking to visit Alexandria, VA as they have a shuttle that takes you within a mile. You could also walk to downtown Alexandria. If you are looking to see sights in DC the hotel is only a 2 block walk to the metro station and is in a very safe area. On the weekend we were there it was fully booked and thus very crowded for breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Good Day Ann M. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay here at our Hotel in Old-Town. It is such a pleasure to hear that our location helped make your stay so memorable and allowed for easy exploration of Alexandria and also Washington D.C.

Thank you again for providing your feedback of our Hotel and we hope that you will join us again soon during your next visit to Alexandria.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I stayed here due to the proximity to the patent office -- I didn't need a kitchen or all the room that the hotel offers. But I have to say it was really nice to have such a large room to move around in. Bed was very comfortable.

The other thing I really liked about the hotel was the breakfast -- there is something for everyone including eggs/potatoes/sausage links in buffet style.

If I am in Alexandria again I would absolutely book here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdtraveler73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Good Day sdtraveler73. Thank you so much for taking the time to share feedback from your recent stay here with us in Old-Town. We are happy to hear that our location was perfect for you working out of the US Patent Office right down the street. It sounds like you had plenty of room to spread and relax after a long day at work in your suite. Also, thank you for your kind words regarding our breakfast, we strive to ensure we offer a variety of foods so that all of our guests can find something to their liking.

Again, thank you so much for your feedback and we hope to see you again during your next trip to Alexandria.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We took a family “Learncation” to Washington DC area. We stayed at the Residence Inn Alexandria March 31 through April 5. We arrived in the evening of the 31st and checked in. The pull out couch wasn't the most comfortable; but that is something I believe would be the same no matter what hotel we stayed in. My mother said the bed in the suite was quite comfortable (a pillow top bed, I believe) and she slept well.
If we found things that required attention in the room, we called down to maintenance or stopped by the main desk. We do these things when we travel so the person after us doesn’t have to deal with it, and as well, it makes our stay that much more pleasant. At Residence Inn Alexandria, the process to fix whatever we reported was expedient and the people who fixed them were so very nice; we were quite impressed.
The employees at the hotel were wonderful. If there was a question or need, they were very quick to assist and it made the stay that much more comfortable. The employees seemed genuinely happy to be working there.
The location of the hotel was ideal. We were a few blocks from the Metro and a few blocks from King Street. We did as many of the natives in Alexandria did and purchased smart strip cards from the fare vending machines and if we needed to, we could add fare to the cards. If there was something left on the card at the end of the day, there was a deposit box for Veterans in need. And traveling on the Metro was very simple; getting from point A to B never seemed a problem and if a question arose, we’d ask a Metro employee.
The hotel swimming pool was so very tiny; but considering we were out most of the day and my nephew was the only one who really used it, it was okay. There were plenty of other children in the pool area for him to play with.
Another nice perk of the hotel was the extensive breakfast buffet. What surprised and delighted us even more was the evening meal that the hotel offered. It was usually a substantial meal and included two glasses of wine or two domestic beers for adults, and a drink of milk, juice, or soda for children. Both breakfast and dinner were included in the price of the room. It was a nice atmosphere to come back to when we decided to ‘stay in’ for our evening meal. This hotel is very family oriented.
I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is considering a visit to the Washington DC area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BerkanaBeads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Hi BerkanaBeads. Wow, it sounds like you and your family had an amazing time here during your "Learncation" to the Washington D.C. area. We are so happy that our Hotel was able to provide you with a great hub for all of your various activities in and around the area. The staff here at the Hotel do genuinely enjoy their work everyday in providing all of our guests with memorable stays.

We cannot thank you enough for your kind words and we hope you will join us again soon during your next trip to the Washington D.C. area.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews