We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fantastic Stay in October” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Fantastic Stay in October”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Visited Residence Inn in Alexandria Old Town in October and had a great stay! Extremely spacious clean rooms with a full kitchen & living room, fantastic location close to all of the amenities, great nightlife and dining spots in Old Town. In addition, the staff was extremely helpful and courteous. Thumbs up to the management team for running a 1st class operation!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Good Day Bob D. Thank you for sharing your experiences from your recent stay here at our Hotel in Old-Town. We never get tired of hearing when our guests have a great experience at the Hotel and it sounds as though you were no exception. We especially appreciate your kind words regarding the staff here at the Hotel and our leadership team. Your feedback will certainly be passed along to the team at our next meeting and we hope to see you again during future travels to the Washington D.C. area.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    210
    65
    10
    5
See reviews for
258
156
38
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at the Residence Inn in July and thought it was a great place. The rooms were very clean and very big. Breakfast and the complimentary dinners were excellent and the staff was very helpful. Can't beat the location. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MItravelinfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Good Day MItravelinfamily. We are so happy to hear that you and your guests had an enjoyable stay with us here in July. Our number one priority is to ensure each traveler that joins us for business or leisure has a memorable experience and it sounds as though you were no exception.

Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stay in a lot of Marriott properties, but the Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street is one of the best. The amenities are excellent, as they are in all Marriott hotels. The difference is in the service and friendliness of the staff. The property is close to the Metro, and the hotel shuttle will go anywhere in Old Town. And the concierge services are second to none.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back of the building overlooking one of the oldest national cemeteries in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Hello Ted J. Wow, thank you so much for your kind words regarding our staff here at the Hotel. We always say that the best ammenity we have at our property is the team that works so hard everyday to ensure each of our guests has a memorable experience here in Old Town. Also, what a great tip for other travelers regarding the rooms overlooking Alexandria National Cemetary which was actually the National Cemetary prior to Arlington Cemetary's development. These rooms are often the most quiet in the Hotel and for history buffs offers a great vantage point.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope that we will see you again soon during travels to the Alexandria area.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camillus, New York
Level Contributor
133 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We just returned from a two night stay at this hotel. Probably the best feature of the hotel is the location. the hotel is located two stops on the metro from Ronald Reagan airport. It is also a very short distance from the Alexandria Amtrak station. We arrived by Amtrak. Metro and Amtrak are two blocks away from the hotel. The old town area is a lot of fun, with restaurants and bars of all kinds less than a mile from the hotel. We took a hotel shuttle to a fine seafood restaurant located on Alexandria's waterfront.
The Metro will link to just about anywhere in Washington.
The hotel is a nice clean place. It is a very busy hotel. There were many people staying for the Marine Marathon. The room was pretty spacious The room is very clean and bright, with plenty of windows. We didn't use the kitchen at all, just the refrigerator. The bed was fairly comfortable.
There is a buffet breakfast every morning. It is just average, nothing fancy, but adequate.
We did not have a car, but there is a garage in the rear of the hotel if you need to park.
All in all we had a nice stay. Took the metro to DCA (Reagan Airport) and had a nice couple of days with no car.

Room Tip: The corner rooms seen to be larger than the standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazuza2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Good Day mazuza2. Thank you for taking the time to share some of the experiences from your recent stay here at our Hotel. You are certainly correct about our location as we consider this one of our best ammenities outside of the team we have working here. I am glad to hear that you found our Hotel convenient to the local Amtrak, Metro, as well the heart of Old town all just a few blocks away.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will join us again during future travels to the Alexandria area.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed here for the Army Ten Miler due to its proximity to Metro. The Metro is an easy walk from the hotel and the main pedestrian areas for Old Alexandria are near by. Overall, the room was good, the free breakfast was good, and the service was very good. Internet was free but you paid for the parking, $18/ day. It is pricey but it is downtown Alexandria and it is secure. I did not check the exercise areas since we stay only two nights. Overall, the value was good except for the parking. You could use this hotel without a car and use the Metro to explore DC. the only detractor is the room was warm with the AC on while the hallway was very cool. it appears the room AC (not window AC) are in need of repair or replacement while the HVAC for the common areas was great. Luckily, you can open the windows partially and get cool, night air.

Room Tip: None except above the 4th floor to get above street noise but not higher than 7th floor for safety.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SV_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hi SV_Traveler. Thank you for providing the great feedback from your recent stay here with us in Alexandria. We are glad to hear that our location was ideal for you to explore both the Old-Town Alexandria area but also close to the Metro to allow you access to Washington D.C. As a Member of the Marriott family of Hotel's it is our number one priority to ensure our guests have a pleasant and issue free stay and in regards to your room HVAC unit it sounds like we fell short of this goal. I want to apologize and thank you for bringing it to our attention. If you could please reach out to me direclty (ri.wasdk.agm@marriott.com) so that we can ensure that we can address any issues with that room for future guests I would greatly appreciate it.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will join us again during future travels to Alexandria.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Went on a "girls weekend" with my 7 year old daughter and decided to stay in Alexandria over our first choice of a hotel on Capitol Hill, as we were coming in the middle of the gov shutdown, and I did not know what sort of temperment people would have in the DC area. This was a great place. The location is walking distance to so much, Whole Foods, King St Metro, shops, restaurants. Each day the manager at the hotel was happy to help direct me once I gave him our agenda. He was very helpful in learning what stop we needed to get off at on the Metro, as well as recommended places to eat in Alexandria, and of course walking directions. The breakfast buffet was great, and the eating area was spread out, much bigger than others I have stayed at. I normally feel like we are on top of people at breakfast, but this place was nice. My only wish was there there was more fruit options for breakfast, when we were there is was only melon, and some greenish bananas. But otherwise, breakfast was great.
It was easy to get to DC on the Metro, and we actually had a great weekend despite the shutdown. Only sleeping complaint was that our room was near the parking garage, and there were a lot of teenagers in our hotel the weekend we stayed, and they chose to whoop it up at 1am in the parking garage, and that woke me up.
We will visit DC again, and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STom21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hi STom21. Thank you for taking time to provide your feedback from the recent stay here in Old-Town. We are sorry that you were not able to experience all that Washington D.C. has to offer due to the "shutdown". However, we are happy that you were able to find us here and stay in Historic Alexandria. We are thrilled that you took advantage of the various ammenities that not only our Hotel has to offer such as the breakfast, and our team here, but also some of the local attractions such as Historic King Street and the nearby WholeFoods. I do want to apologize for the noise levels during your stay as we always strive to ensure our guests have a quiet and enjoyable evening's rest. Also, I appreciate the feedback regarding the breakfast offerings as we are always trying to find ways to provide our guests with more selections and items to their liking.

Thank you again for the feedback and we hope that you will join us again soon here in Alexandria.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This hotel is a great choice for anyone visiting Alexandria or staying in Alexandria while visiting Washington. The location is outstanding-two blocks from King Street in Old Town with its shops and restaurants, and three blocks from the metro. The hotel has a shuttle that will take you to the metro and other places nearby if you prefer not to walk. The breakfast buffet is lovely with both hot and cold selections. The only issue we had with the hotel is that the beds are quite soft. Otherwise, this hotel is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DEA26TOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hi DEA26TOR. Thank you for taking the time to share some of your experiences here at our Hotel during your recent stay. Obviously, you found our Hotel to be a great starting point not only for exploring the immediate Old-Town area but also for heading into Washington D.C. Our team at the Hotel from the Front Desk clerks to the attendants in the breakfast area were thrilled to have you as a guest and we hope that you will join us again soon during your next trip to the area.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 1,152 reviews
Eisenhower East
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#6 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Property: Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Address: 1456 Duke St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3403
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing