We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2008

Everything about this hotel was EXCELLENT! They just remodeled the rooms and they are so cool. This hotel makes you fell like you are at home. My family and I didn't want to leave!
The rooms were very cozy. I loved them. Everything is very modern. I loved it!
It was very easy to check-in. All of the employees' were very, very caring and they gave you every bit of information that you need to know. They treated you like you were at home.
Like I said before, my family and I didn't want to leave. I wanted to cry! Everyone and everything was very nice. I would definatlly recommend this to everyone that is going to visit Alexandria, VA!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Belle_n_Daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (770)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

714 - 720 of 770 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2008

Stayed from June 28 to July 5. Second stay for my wife and I. Another outstanding experience Metro close by, Whole foods next door. No need for car. Great staff. We love the place.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rapa1tech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2008

Our family of four recently stayed at this hotel (June 29th to July 3rd) and thought it was wonderful. The proximity to both the metro station at King Street and the Whole Foods market was great (even the market was impressive!). We had a 2-bedroom, 2-bathroom suite which was very roomy and provided 3 TVs for us to use after spending 3 exhausting days in Washington DC. The breakfasts offered a lot of variety for the kids. The staff was friendly - the first day we arrived, our room wasn't ready so they offered us a shuttle ride down to the waterfront. You don't need a car if you are touring DC and Alexandria. The free trolley bus runs frequently up King Street and allows you to jump on and off whenever you want. We didn't utilize the indoor pool (rather small) but we did use the laundry facilities to prepare for the continuation of our trip. Having a kitchen in the room is nice as an option to eating out or keeping snacks around. Overall, this hotel was clean and well maintained. It works well if you don't mind not having quick access to DC spots in the evenings.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SSTScottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2008

We chose this hotel based upon its proximity to Reagan airport and the Metro station. What a great choice! The hotel and grounds were spotless and they have recently renovated, so the rooms were freshly carpeted and bathrooms immaculate! It is right on a busy road, but the road noise was almost non existent. The staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were bountiful. Different hot selections each day as well as the standard bagels, fruit, oatmeal, etc. The Metro is a very short two blocks away and was very easy to travel to get all over DC. No car was needed. The Metro was also clean and safe. All in all, a great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DFWMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2008

My son was participating in a leadership conference during Spring Break at a different hotel in Bethesda. Therefore, we needed a hotel that wasn't too far from him but that was also in a safe and unique area for our two younger children to enjoy. We read the mostly favorable reviews on Trip Advisor and picked this hotel. Not only were the rates reasonable for Washignton D.C.($135 most of the nights--two nights at 250) but the service was excellent. The complimentary shuttle service took us anywhere we needed to go in Alexandria which was convenient since we had a baby in tow and we didn't want to spend time searching for our destinations. The rooms were fairly clean, a little small but provided a refrigerator, microwave and stove(please note they don't have ovens). The staff was super helpful and friendly. The complimentary breakfasts and dinners(M-F) were good and a great place to socialize. Lots of families who were relocating to the Washington D.C. area were staying there so we really felt comfortable with our children.

Old Town is beautiful and the hotel is so close to King Street and the Metro Train Station. It felt very safe and there is so much to see on King Street.

Overall, it isn't a fancy hotel by any means and needs a little updating but we would definitely stay there again.

Note: The pool wasn't so bad. We had a great time swimming. But then we knew that "swimming" wasn't going to be our main activity. There is a fee for parking(can't remember what it is) and it does get a little crowded making it difficult to find a parking spot although we always found one.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MMQChicag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2008

Just a short walk from the ever-efficient DC Metro system, this Residence Inn lacks for nothing. We found our accomodations spacious, spotless, and plush. The staff was truly remarkable and wonderfully refreshing in this day when service with a smile is typically just a memory from past days. This location is not a standard inn (modeled like town homes), but rather like metropolitan apartments. Multi stories - but worth the elevator ride for a very quiet location at the end of the hall. The indoor pool was a bit too small, but our 6 year old didn't mind too much. Breakfasts were hot and well prepared. The location, near the Old Alexandria King Street Trolley (mentioned later) and near the convenience of a Whole Foods (gastronomique heaven) were a special plus we had not expected. The Old Town trolley was a bit of a disappointment, though - rather undependable - but better than walking. We were glad, my age dictates that I point out, that we were not staying closer to King Street because the night life crowd could be a little rowdy.

Hats off to the staff! I hear they are planning renovations! I, for the life of me, could not tell why!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MORRELL_FAMILY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2008

We've been to DC several times but have never visited Alexandria. We couldn't have been more pleased with this hotel. We arrived early, but the desk staff made an extra effort to see if a room was ready, which we really appreciated. The walk to the Metro was much shorter than we expected, and had we realized how close it was to Reagan National we would have turned in our rental car rather than parking it in the garage. We were thrilled to find a Whole Foods Market just a block away. After a week on vacation we were tired of eating out, so it was great to be able to stop there on the way back from the Metro (after a hard day of walking - that's DC!!) and pick up dinner ingredients. The market has a superb selection of ready made to ready to cook. As a previous reviewer said, the breakfast was excellent. We didn't get a chance to go to the evening reception. The hotel is undergoing some room renovations. We had an older room, but the new changes are going to be really nice! Again, the staff was really helpful, and the computer in the lobby was a nice touch because you could print out directions to attractions and check in to your flight without having to find a "business center" . We would definitely stay here again. It was a great value.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Suzi-Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#5 of 54 in Alexandria
1,508 reviews
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,323 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Address: 1456 Duke St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: $103 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing