We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Nearby Hotels
$139
$131
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$235
$176
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$98
SpringHill Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$109
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$137
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Colony Inn Alexandria(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$134
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$95
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $100/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$179
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hilton Alexandria Old Town(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$133
$118
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$143
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (810)
Filter reviews
810 results
Traveler rating
479
242
73
11
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
479
242
73
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhole foodstwo blocksking streetold townfull kitchenmetro stationone bedroom suitedc areagrocery shoppingwafflesstove topfree breakfastmile radiusthree blockshotel shuttlefree shuttleshops and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
425 - 430 of 810 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Arranged to meet family in DC area to tour the Mall. Found this hotel on Trip Advisor, noted the great reviews. Hotel did not disappoint; in fact, now that I have been there, I thought the reviews understated the amazing customer service, fantastic location, amenities, cleanliness and overall quality of the hotel. Each and every staff member went out of their way to assist us; folks who provided the glowing reviews of the hotel staff were right on the money - they were awesome. We stayed in a one room suite; queen size bed in bedroom-bathroom area and a seperate living room area with pull-out couch (in case you make spouse angry or snore famously). Full kitchen with large fridge (Whole Foods grocery store about a block away, so you won't forget how to cook or clean dishes while on vacation:-), stove, microwave, dishwasher, coffee pot, dishes, towels, etc. Complimentary breakfast every day and, Mon-Thursday, a complimentary dinner and drink. Free wifi with room (thank you very much), and a shuttle if you ate (or drank) too much to waddle the block or so to the metro (15-20 min on Blue line to Mall) or King Street (where all the stores, restaurants, bars, etc are located). In-laws had a two-room suite, which was also very nice, and extremely spacious. Honestly, I cannot say enough good things about this hotel, which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Room Tip: We loved the suite with the large kitchen area.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisVaBeachVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Hello ChrisVaBeachVa. Thank you so much for taking the time to share some of your great experiences during your recent stay in our Hotel. It sounds to me like you and your family had a great trip and enjoyed your sightseeing in DC. Our team at the Hotel is happy you were able to experience so many of our great ammenities like the breakfast, evening social hour, complementary shuttle, and last but not least the team here at our Hotel. We value our guests contributions to TripAdvisor and want to thank you for providing us with such a glowing review. Hopefully we will see you and your family during your next visit to the DC area.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed 5 nights at a 1bedroom suite at this hotel close to Whole Foods super market and Metro. Thought the $18 tag for inside parking garage was stiff for this area but guess this is the going rate. Free breakfast was the usual stuff but after a while we needed to go somewhere else. Free dinner social Mon-Thurs was interesting but had it for one night only. Guess for business traveler on the run, this may be good but with so many good restaurant to choose from in Old Town, one night was good enough. Also with a small kitchen and Whole Foods close by, can eat better on your own. Service was great and reasonably priced compared to DC.

Room Tip: Ask for room in the back
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yori O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Good Day Yori O. Thank you for your recent review of our Hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your five night stay with us here in your one-bedroom suite. It sounds like the Whole Foods down the street combined with our in room kitchen allowed you to create some delicious dishes. Thank you again for the feedback and we hope to see you again during your next visit to the DC area.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I was very happy with our stay here. The room is typical Residence Inn and very functional. The location is perfect--walkable to Metro and Old Town. The staff was great--working hard to keep the breakfast items out and the room clean. After a long day, we bought a couple of snacks from the little convenience store in the lobby and the woman at the desk must have seen how haggard we were, because she said our snacks were on the house. Our room felt like a mile walk from the elevator, so if that's a problem be sure to ask for something closer.

My only two complaints are: 1) the parking is $18/night, which is of course disclosed up front. You can definitely find cheaper/free parking nearby if you're willing to invest a bit of time. 2) breakfast was a complete mob scene both mornings--way more people than places to sit, even though they extended seating area out into the lobby.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EW1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Hi EW1616, thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad that you had such a great stay with us and it sounds like we were a perfect starting point for your daily adventures. We always try and make sure our guests are as comfortable as possible when they are here with us and it sounds like our Front Desk team member knew just how to make that happen after a long day with some treats from the Market. I do appreciate your feedback regarding our breakfast and the amount of seating that is available. During our peak leisure season we do add additional seating which I believe was noted but at times it is still difficult to keep up with the demand.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that you will join us again the next time you are in the DC area.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on 2 occasions when I found it during a business trip. It was in driving distance to Ft Belvoir and was easy to get to from the highway or one of the backroads when I needed to avoid traffic which there is alot in this area. The hotel itself has standard rooms you find at any residence inn and the views are nothing special. They come equipment with full kitchens, good beds and decent couch. The shower is large. It is in walking distance of a few restaurants and has a convient parking garage. The hotel always seemed fulled and each morning breakfast was very busy.

Hotel staff were great. Friendly and professional they were always able to answer my questions and offer good advice.

My first stay was for business and then family when I came back to visit an old army buddy. My wife really enjoyed a local filipino grocery and restaurant and just added to our experience. We were also in town to try and catch the cherry tree festival but a recent cold front delayed them.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warsnake66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Hi Warsnake66, thank you for the feedback from your recent stay here with us in Old-Town. I am glad you were able to discover some short-cuts to get to Fort Belvoir and avoid some of the famous DC traffic. Also, I hope your wife was able to pick up something delicious from her visit to the nearby Filipino grocery store as I know they have a lot of tasty finds. I will be sharing your kind words regarding the staff and your other feedback about our Hotel ammenities during our next team meeting. Thank you again for taking the time to share some of your experiences and we hope that you will join us again the next time you are in the area.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great hotel for the price and location. We chose to stay here for our trip to DC. Had a wonderful suite for three nights for what DC would have cost us for one. Walking distance to Metro, or they will shuttle you over. Hotel had great free breakfast with daily menu change. Not just the usual bagels and cold cereal, but honest to goodness hot breakfast. All of the staff were nice and friendly. Loved seeing the same guy every morning, vacuuming with a smile and hearty "Good Morning". You can spend one day of your trip exploring this fantastic area of Alexandria. The free King street trolley makes it easy to navigate the long street filled with shopping and dining. Would definitely stay here again! Best place to stay if traveling with children, a mini home with kitchen and separate sleeping areas and pool for entertainment and winding down.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin P, Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Donna K, thank you for such great comments regarding your recent stay with us; it sounds like it was a busy trip. I am glad to hear you were able to fuel up for a big day of exploring DC and Old-Town at our breakfast and also that you were given such a warm greating each day by our team member working in the lobby. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you and your family again in the near future the next time you are visiting the area.

Regards,

Edwin P.
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews