We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Nearby Hotels
$112
$105
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $130/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$123
$116
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $156/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$89
SpringHill Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $117/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$109
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$100
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Alexandria Mark Center(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$112
$105
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$125
$119
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $161/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Old Colony Inn Alexandria(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$89
$80
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of $125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Alexandria Old Town(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$111
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$136
$96
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (810)
Filter reviews
810 results
Traveler rating
479
242
73
11
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
479
242
73
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhole foodstwo blocksking streetold townfull kitchenmetro stationone bedroom suitedc areagrocery shoppingwafflesstove topfree breakfastmile radiusthree blockshotel shuttlefree shuttleshops and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
756 - 761 of 810 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2008

My son was participating in a leadership conference during Spring Break at a different hotel in Bethesda. Therefore, we needed a hotel that wasn't too far from him but that was also in a safe and unique area for our two younger children to enjoy. We read the mostly favorable reviews on Trip Advisor and picked this hotel. Not only were the rates reasonable for Washignton D.C.($135 most of the nights--two nights at 250) but the service was excellent. The complimentary shuttle service took us anywhere we needed to go in Alexandria which was convenient since we had a baby in tow and we didn't want to spend time searching for our destinations. The rooms were fairly clean, a little small but provided a refrigerator, microwave and stove(please note they don't have ovens). The staff was super helpful and friendly. The complimentary breakfasts and dinners(M-F) were good and a great place to socialize. Lots of families who were relocating to the Washington D.C. area were staying there so we really felt comfortable with our children.

Old Town is beautiful and the hotel is so close to King Street and the Metro Train Station. It felt very safe and there is so much to see on King Street.

Overall, it isn't a fancy hotel by any means and needs a little updating but we would definitely stay there again.

Note: The pool wasn't so bad. We had a great time swimming. But then we knew that "swimming" wasn't going to be our main activity. There is a fee for parking(can't remember what it is) and it does get a little crowded making it difficult to find a parking spot although we always found one.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MMQChicag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2008

Just a short walk from the ever-efficient DC Metro system, this Residence Inn lacks for nothing. We found our accomodations spacious, spotless, and plush. The staff was truly remarkable and wonderfully refreshing in this day when service with a smile is typically just a memory from past days. This location is not a standard inn (modeled like town homes), but rather like metropolitan apartments. Multi stories - but worth the elevator ride for a very quiet location at the end of the hall. The indoor pool was a bit too small, but our 6 year old didn't mind too much. Breakfasts were hot and well prepared. The location, near the Old Alexandria King Street Trolley (mentioned later) and near the convenience of a Whole Foods (gastronomique heaven) were a special plus we had not expected. The Old Town trolley was a bit of a disappointment, though - rather undependable - but better than walking. We were glad, my age dictates that I point out, that we were not staying closer to King Street because the night life crowd could be a little rowdy.

Hats off to the staff! I hear they are planning renovations! I, for the life of me, could not tell why!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MORRELL_FAMILY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2008

We've been to DC several times but have never visited Alexandria. We couldn't have been more pleased with this hotel. We arrived early, but the desk staff made an extra effort to see if a room was ready, which we really appreciated. The walk to the Metro was much shorter than we expected, and had we realized how close it was to Reagan National we would have turned in our rental car rather than parking it in the garage. We were thrilled to find a Whole Foods Market just a block away. After a week on vacation we were tired of eating out, so it was great to be able to stop there on the way back from the Metro (after a hard day of walking - that's DC!!) and pick up dinner ingredients. The market has a superb selection of ready made to ready to cook. As a previous reviewer said, the breakfast was excellent. We didn't get a chance to go to the evening reception. The hotel is undergoing some room renovations. We had an older room, but the new changes are going to be really nice! Again, the staff was really helpful, and the computer in the lobby was a nice touch because you could print out directions to attractions and check in to your flight without having to find a "business center" . We would definitely stay here again. It was a great value.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Suzi-Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2008

My husband and I just got back from our 3 night stay at the Residence Inn in Alexandria, over Memorial Day weekend. We loved this hotel. We got a great deal of only $104 per night through the hotel website with our Marriott Rewards number (regular rate was still very good at $139/night), and were very impressed with what we got for our money. We stayed in a Studio Suite, with a Queen bed, full-size fridge, microwave, dishwasher, cooktop, full service dinner/cookware, dining table etc.. The room was really large and both the room and bathroom were very clean and nice.

The staff was really nice as well, always saying hello and helping when we needed it. The front lobby had a computer and printer we could use, as well as a computer kiosk with local dining/shopping/tourist information available.

The breakfast was totally awesome. It was much more than the usual Continental-sytle breakfast. Each day there were bagels, toast, English muffins, doughnuts, cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, fruit, and waffle mix (for the waffle iron) available as well as some hot items, like eggs, pancakes and sausage, and juice, milk and coffee.

Parking was an additional $15 per day, but that still put our hotel rate at a much lower cost than most of the other hotels in the area, especially at this quality. The parking garage was covered and gated, so was very safe. We felt safe at all times in the hotel as well.

We drove to Mt. Vernon from here, which was an easy 15 min drive. For sightseeing around Alexandria, we walked- everything in Old Town was within walking distance. It was about 1 mile (20 mins) to the water, and King Street (with all the shops and restaurants you can imagine available) was only a few blocks over. We never did try the free King St Trolley, we preferred to walk everywhere, but we did see it going by quite frequently.

Overall, we were very impressed with this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank zippyincolumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a room block for a wedding party. When I originally booked the room for 3 adults, I misunderstood the website, thinking every room has a bedroom separated from the sofa bed and sitting area. When we arrived and noticed the sofa bed and bed in the same room, I called the front desk and they promptly relocated us into a one bedroom suite with a separate bedroom.

This hotel is in a fabulous location. It is only a few blocks, and 5 minute walk, to the King St. Metro station, for easy access to D.C. The hotel also provides a free shuttle to Old Town destinations. This was a great way to be transported to the King St. area and wharf, where most of the action is. We never had to wait longer than 10 minutes to be dropped off or picked up. The front desk was happy to arrange this for us. (Note that the shuttle does not run after 10:30 P.M. So we did take a cab home in the evenings.)

We loved having a full kitchen! It was a great way to keep snacks and drinks on hand and would be wonderful for a longer stay or for a family who wanted to make some meals in the suite.

Breakfast each morning is free and ample. There were many choices including pancakes, waffles, eggs, potatoes, yogurt, fruit, pastries, etc.

We thought this hotel was an excellent value, especially considering the location and extra amenities. 3 adults easily enjoyed the accommodations without feeling crowded. I think this would be an excellent base for D.C. sightseeing.

Stayed: April 2008
1  Thank SaraSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews