We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return every year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street to your Saves list
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Return every year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel is located 3 blocks from the metro and about a ten min ride to down town D.C. My family of 6 have stayed every year for the past four years. Great free breakfast, swimming pool with life guard at all times and very clean. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. We have never had one problem.

Room Tip: We have always stayed in the bedroom suites with kitchens. We have no problem sleeping 6 to a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorelei A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    205
    64
    10
    5
See reviews for
251
149
37
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Perfect solution for families traveling with children. Suite was clean and a little nicer than other suite hotels (new upholstery maybe?). Staff was unfailingly polite, friendly and never too busy to answer a question. Free shuttle to King Street was a real bonus at the end of a long day. Short walk to Metro station and Whole Foods. Free breakfast was, well, free...but again, well staffed and quality was a notch above similar hotels. Exactly what we needed for this trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenevolentD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrow, Ohio
Level Contributor
318 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Got a one bedroom suite. Furnishings were modern, room was nice and clean. HDTV's in both the bedroom and living room, but no channels in HD. Vanity was outside the bathroom, which made it easy to get ready while my traveling companion used the shower.

Free breakfast was extensive: eggs, sausage, various forms of potato, biscuits, muffins, waffles, soda, and coffee. In addition, the waffle station had a lot of toppings to choose from: different fruits, syrups, whipped cream, and nuts. However, the quality of the breakfast was just "OK".

Parking was quite expensive in the very tight parking garage at $18/night. The entry was so tight that I nearly hit the buidling with the side of my car turning into the entrance. It was also a chore to perfectly position myself centrally into the parking spot and not hit one of the supporting pillars.

The staff was very pleasant and welcoming, always saying "hello".

Room Tip: Regarding parking: To save money, there is metered parking just west of the hotel around the Carlyle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NoCleverCreation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Two friends and I stayed at the Residence Inn in Alexandria for a girls' weekend. We wanted easy access to the Metro and a safe walkable area. This hotel offered both. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and had a nice kitchenette. It was an easy walk down to the Metro station and there were several good restaurants in that same area. They also had a pretty nice breakfast spread—the usual buffet and cold selections. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laobringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Spent 3 nights with my family while we visited DC. Staff was very helpful, friendly and accommodating. Food was very good, shuttle service was quick, and they were glad to help with small details that we needed. Highly recommend this Residence Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I was in the town for a major meeting and booked into an overflow hotel as I generally do, however I booked into the wrong Residence Inn so I was staying in Alexandria VA instead of the one in the Inner Harbor. The staff was very helpful and friendly, even while handing two group of students visiting the sights of the nat'l capitol. The hotel is two short blocks from the the King Street Metro and also the free Kings St. Trolley. The metro accesses all the major area of DC, the trolly gets you to the eateries and pubs in the historic district. I wished I could have stayed one day longer to taken in more of the sights. Great restarurant, LaPorta's, next door - thats another review.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BearFromLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
224 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel is .3 of a mile from the metro station, so it was convenient for sightseeing in DC. One of the best features is a Whole Foods that is .1 of a mile up the street. We got a wonderful dinner and a bottle of wine from there one evening and took it back to enjoy in our room. After a long day of sightseeing, it was nice to get some great food and go back to the hotel and relax. Several times we stopped by there for snacks. The staff at the hotel were polite and efficient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TN-Traveler38017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandriaHotelMgt, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for the review of our hotel! We are pleased that you were able to enjoy all the great amenities of our location. We always share feedback with the team...they were happy to see your recognition for them. Thank you for staying with us!

Mike Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#8 of 52 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 1,094 reviews
Old Town
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Eisenhower East
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Property: Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Address: 1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing