We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Decent Suite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Decent Suite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Had to attend a burial at Arlington. Was kind of a surprise when we opened the curtains and realized we overlooked the Alexandria National Cemetery. I walked this small national cemetery with my kids.

The hotel was fair. It had a little kitchenette, foldout couch and small bedroom. The included breakfast was nice ... better than most in the modest cost category. The pool was so small that a good cannonball would empty it out.

Best part of our stay was the staff. Everyone was helpful and cheery.

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside overlook the Alexandria National Cemetery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GaPeppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    207
    65
    10
    5
See reviews for
256
150
37
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed while running the 1/2 marathon in DC. Great service. Incredible breakfast. Very child friendly. Only 2 blocks from King St. Metro. New and clean with nice big rooms. $18/ night parking was the only downside.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank outdors1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hotel was very clean and very friendly. Offered a very nice hot breakfast in the morning with a wide variety. We weren't able to take advantage of the shuttle transportation but will try next time in town. There is a parking fee ($18)nightly but not bad compared to DC and other locations in Alexandria however I drive a mid size SUV and anything larger may be a little tricky to get into and out of the parking garage because of the way it's set up but I did see larger vehicles in there. If driving down in to Old Town street parking is hard to find but there is a parking garage at Fairfax plaza for $2 all day(we were there during the weekend). My only complaint is that for some reason the end of the 8th floor is freezing!!! The way our door was positioned the air was blowing directly into our room even though the heat was on and we couldn't get comfortable and the comforter wasn't too thick so we had to ask for another comforter the 2nd night. Not sure if all floors are like this but we only noticed it at the end of he hallway. Other than that everything was nice and if we go back I will request a different location for a room. Definitely a great deal if you have little ones because the hot breakfast helps cut costs.

Room Tip: avoid room 804...very cold. cold air from hallway competes with hot air in room and hard to get it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahS76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, easy walking distance from King Street sights. The staff was friendly and very helpful about directions and public transportation (Metro) information. Parking is very expensive, but weekend street parking is free of charge. Thankfully one of the hotel staff gave us that bit of information.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trinia40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Illinois
Level Contributor
257 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Nice, larger Residence Inn. Staff was very attentive. A tad off the main part of Alexandria so you can not walk to the main attractions/shopping but the price savings is worth it. Stayed in a one-bedroom suite with a nice size with kitchen. Work out facility was very well appointed with multiple cardio machines, free weights, smith machine, balls, etc. There was also a pool but we did not see it. Complimentary breakfast was plentiful and well organized. Parking is a bit tight and you have to pay for it. Would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoGrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyce, VA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This hotel is not on King Street but is an easy walk to most restaurants and shops in Old Towne. Hotel was very clean and had very large rooms equipped for extended stays. Staff friendly and the breakfast had many choices. My wife and I normally stay at one of the Kimpton properties when visiting Old Towne but this hotel was a great value and accessible to most attractions. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boycebrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Second week-long stay at this hotel. Wonderful staff and great location (easy walk to King Street Metro, which takes you to all the must-see sights). We are staying in a one bedroom unit, with full kitchen. The hotel offers a complementary breakfast and evening snack, so you would not have to eat out, unless you really wanted to. If you choose to cook in, Whole Foods is only two blocks away. Hotel shuttle takes you anywhere within a one mile radius.

Room Tip: Go for a one bedroom, instead of a studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel2223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 52 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 1,117 reviews
Eisenhower East
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Old Town
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Property: Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Address: 1456 Duke St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3403
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing