We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Still a great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Clifton, NJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Still a great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed here for two more visits over the past month. It is still tops. The staff is remarkably helpful and courteous. On the first visit I had a great deal of trouble with the internet connection. They helped solve it; but the next visit, the front desk remembered, and without being asked, comped me with free parking.
BTW, no problem with internet on the second visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rablaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    210
    65
    10
    5
See reviews for
258
156
38
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is nicely located withihn walking distance of King Street shopping in Old Town, and 4 blocks from the Metro Station. We used the Metro to easily get in and out of DC. There is a free trolly that runs regularly on King Street to take you to the water front. The hotel also has a free shuttle, so be sure to inquire about its availability. The rooms come with a free hot breakfast that is more than adequate and plentiful. The hotel facilities are very nice, and the rooms spacious and quiet. Only minor comment is that the furniture & appointments are showing wear and tear and should soon have a makeover. However, i would highly recommend this hotel as a very reasonable for the location.

Room Tip: Away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovesdogs101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We travel to the greater DC area several times a year and are never disappointed with our stay. The staff is awesome, the location is perfect with the metro and access to great restaurants close by. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kurt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boalsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Just spent the weekend in Old Town Alexandria! I have stayed at many of the properties in and around Old Town, but always come back to this hotel! Spacious rooms, friendly and helpful staff, great location, nice breakfast, secure parking, and overall a well maintained property. All for a reasonable rate. This time we did have a problem with the room's heating system. Cindy and the other front desk staff were so accomodating at rectifying the problem. Invariably issues will come up when you stay at hotels. It's how the staff responds that I find the most telling of a hotel's character. Although I have never had an issue at this hotel before, it was great to see that when one develops, the staff responds so nicely.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel was exactly what I expected from Residence Inn. I had a very comfortable and quiet room. The design of the breakfast/dinner area is the best I've experienced of any I've seen. I hate being right on top of someone when trying to prepare and enjoy my meal but this hotel makes the experience enjoyable. Very spacious and well laid out. The staff goes out of their way to make you feel like family. From the housekeepers to maintenance staff. Katie at the front desk was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The hotel is not in the heart of Old Town but they offer a free shuttle or you can catch the trolley (also free) or walk to the waterfront in less than 15 minutes. No complaints here.

Room Tip: As for an end room. They are the corner 1 bedroom suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishguyinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Great hotel close to King Street. The staff, as usual for the Marriott, was outstanding and could not have been nicer. We stayed here for 5 nights as we were moving from Alexandria. Fantastic place to stay with kids

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ptyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My family spent one night here last spring, overall a fine place to stay. The hotel met our basic needs, was clean and the staff was courteous.
We selected the hotel because of the proximity to Mount Vernon, was in Old Town and that it offered laundry facilities. Very easy drive to and from Mount Vernon, the worst part of the drive being the hotel parking garage. The website provides the max vertical clearance, but not horizontal! Spaces are tiny and turns are tight, and whatever you do, take the first space you see, there are no larger spaces!
The Waterfront is a long distance away, forget thinking you will enjoy the scenery on a leisurely stroll to the Waterfront, you can take the hotel shuttle. Once it drops you, do your walking and take in the architecture/scenery, your feet and kids will thank you. Take advantage of the trolley to get home, but know your stop and let the driver know your stop because they don't stop at every stop.
We had a one bedroom suite, nice and quiet. Our view was of a cemetery, one would expect that side of the building to be quiet.
Nice, large laundry room. Plenty of washers and dryers. There was a tv and a couple of tables with chairs while you waited on your clothes.
I gave the location an average because of the distance to the Waterfront.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSMNthedesert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 1,149 reviews
Eisenhower East
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#6 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Property: Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Address: 1456 Duke St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3403
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing