We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great homey feel in old town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Dakar, Senegal
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great homey feel in old town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Great hotel close to King Street. The staff, as usual for the Marriott, was outstanding and could not have been nicer. We stayed here for 5 nights as we were moving from Alexandria. Fantastic place to stay with kids

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ptyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    210
    65
    10
    5
See reviews for
258
156
38
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My family spent one night here last spring, overall a fine place to stay. The hotel met our basic needs, was clean and the staff was courteous.
We selected the hotel because of the proximity to Mount Vernon, was in Old Town and that it offered laundry facilities. Very easy drive to and from Mount Vernon, the worst part of the drive being the hotel parking garage. The website provides the max vertical clearance, but not horizontal! Spaces are tiny and turns are tight, and whatever you do, take the first space you see, there are no larger spaces!
The Waterfront is a long distance away, forget thinking you will enjoy the scenery on a leisurely stroll to the Waterfront, you can take the hotel shuttle. Once it drops you, do your walking and take in the architecture/scenery, your feet and kids will thank you. Take advantage of the trolley to get home, but know your stop and let the driver know your stop because they don't stop at every stop.
We had a one bedroom suite, nice and quiet. Our view was of a cemetery, one would expect that side of the building to be quiet.
Nice, large laundry room. Plenty of washers and dryers. There was a tv and a couple of tables with chairs while you waited on your clothes.
I gave the location an average because of the distance to the Waterfront.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSMNthedesert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Had to find a pet friendly place that would take us with our 4 dogs. We were only going to stay for one night and we were in town to check on a very sick business partner who was in the hospital near by. The staff could NOT have been nicer and the hotel was great! Had a doggie area right behind the hotel and we were near Old Town Alexandria which is also a very pet friendly town! I did call ahead and explain our situation and even though they were suppose to only allow 2 dogs, they let us stay the night with our 3 little dogs and one golden retriever. A special thanks is due to that hotel & it's staff! We would DEFINITELY stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jebachord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
235 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on a Friday night after a late dinner at a nearby restaurant. It was pretty empty and service was quick and courteous. We were able to enjoy a nice walk to King St. However it's not really walking distance to the waterfront (a mile or so). The 1 bedroom suite had a view and a spacious living room. The bathroom was dated but clean. Very nice fitness area. Secure parking arrangement. I would return if in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MN_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

At $99 per night our stay was excellent value for money. The suite was large - ideal for families - the location close to the Metro and King Street was great and the breakfast service was good. On the down side the heating in our room was broken but fortunately it didn't spoil our stay. We were offered a change of room but couldn't be bothered with the hassle.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichellePJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Have spent a number of holidays at this hotel. Great location, large rooms, easy in and out. Parking at the hotel (fee) . Enjoyed having the courtesy shuttle to the Metro. Staff was unbelievably friendly and knowledgeable. We did have one issue, which was solved but was more amazed on how quick it was resolved with no questions asked. They have the "RITZ" touch. Thank you

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjvhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Usually a great place to stay. This visit the front desk was inexperienced and not the least bit helpful. They told us to call for a pick up when we left the hotel at 12:30, then let the driver go at 2:00. Might not have been so irritating if we hadn't had to walk back in the rain. The good news is the hotel is only a few blocks from Alexandria's awesome King St Trolley.
The price wasn't bad and the place is clean, but no more of that attentive customer service they used to have here.
Oh well...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarylisaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 1,149 reviews
Eisenhower East
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#6 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Property: Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Address: 1456 Duke St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3403
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing