We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why all the rave reviews?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I'm surprised at all the rave reviews for this place. We felt it was only average. There were good things. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is excellent, only a few blocks from the metro and from all the shops and restaurants on King Street. The $18 parking charge is very reasonable.

But there were many things that were mediocre. The breakfast wasn't great,with quality being about on par with a Hampton Inn. Very disappointing. We had trouble regulating the water tempature in the shower, it was very temperamental. They were stingy with toiletries and we had to ask for more shampoo when they didn't leave any for two days in a row. The bed had a nightstand only on one side making it difficult for the other person to read in bed. Thankfully we didn't need to use the sofa bed because it looked really saggy and wasn't even comfortable to sit on. Hotel hair dryers are usually bad but this one was worse than most with a really wide nozzle that made it impossible to direct the air flow. The room generally looked a bit worn. We will probably stay elsewhere next time.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank msu_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandriaHotelMgt, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you for the review and for staying with our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our staff and the great location. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations for breakfast, water temperature and that asking for more bath amenities proved challenging. I assure you this is not our standard.

If you have time, I'd love to hear from you directly and get more specific feedback so that I may address the room issues directly.

We appreciate all feedback and value your opinion greatly.

Thank you,

Mike Wilson
General Manager
(703) 310-3040 (direct)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (774)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

482 - 488 of 775 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed at the RI this week, it was my first time to stay there and I was impressed. Its a great location and is very close to King Street and the Metro station. Only one thing that could be improved, larger and softer pillows!!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank Aoyama017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

What a wonderful place for an extended stay. Perfect location , close to metro, Whole Food and great shops and restaurants within walking distance . The hotel shuttle was also convenient and the driver was pleasant . Every staff person went out of his or her way to make sure my husband and I enjoyed our stay. Breakfast and evening reception were also a nice perk. Will stay here again if in the DC area!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juneteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We held my wife's family reunion for 30 people at this hotel. It's easy to get to. We flew in to Reagan National and took the Metro to Alexandria and walked 5 minutes to the hotel. Others drove and used the parking at the hotel. The rooms were very spacious and had kitchens. We walked a couple of blocks to the Whole Foods store and stocked up our kitchen. This helped us save money on food. We were able to meet in the breakfast area at no charge. During the day, we toured Alexandria or caught the Metro into DC. We had a great time!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbowdle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My two “two and under” kids, husband and I stayed five wonderful nights in a 1 bedroom suite. The staff – from Ed the Asst. GM to Ishmael at the front desk to the accommodating cleaning crew were the most attentive, kind hotel staff I have ever encountered...even toward the kids. (I am terrible with names and remember these!!! Says a lot). The location is great…near the metro and WHOLE FOODS plus just a few blocks from King St. restaurants and shops. We will be back in a month or so on a second house hunting trip and can’t imagine staying anywhere else. My MIL joined us for a few nights and was put in a room across the hall. Perfect!

The room showed its age a bit, but was very clean. I had no trepidation about our 8-month-old crawl around.

Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ButlerFan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

If this location is convenient for your DC area visit, this is a good value option, especially if staying for a long time or traveling with family. We had a two bedroom two bathroom suite, which was comfortable for our family including two adult children. As with all residence inns, this one has a full kitchen, and there is a WHOLE FOODS one block away. The metro is VERY convenient, only a few easy blocks away. The heart of Old Town is within a reasonable walk as well.
This is not one of the newer RI properties, so it doesn't have the really hip design. However, the WINDOWS OPEN, which is really important to me, especially during the beautiful weather.
Included in the reasonable price is a full breakfast, which is average quality but very convenient. Also they have a complimentary happy hour with food, which is nice.
The staff was friendly. The pool is tiny with no outdoor access.

Room Tip: If you sleep with open windows, you might not want a room that faces the "courtyard", nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MommaSuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

After booking a room here based on other trip advisor reviews, I had to leave one of my own. I stayed here two nights recently with my husband and 4 year old son, and compared to other hotels at the same price, it's my favorite. I slept like a baby--there was little noise in the hallways or from other rooms (which is usually what kills a stay for me). Plenty of room to move around; super friendly staff; excellent (free) breakfast buffet; newspapers at the ready and I even loved the toiletries they had and the little jar of hard candy on the table. They definitely pay attention to the details. Very impressed.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,519 reviews
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#5 of 54 in Alexandria
1,331 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Address: 1456 Duke St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: $89 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing