We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hands down Problem-free hotel for DC vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hands down Problem-free hotel for DC vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Spent 6 days touring DC. Stayed in Penn Quarter area downtown DC last year but opted to stay further out near the Metro to save $$$. Not only got a cheaper hotel bill, but also received tons more aminities staying at the Residence Inn on Duke St.. 1st included in price, received a huge breakfast buffet. Stocking up there meant we could eat an awesome late lunch/ early dinner at one of DC's awesome new resturants. The cleaning staff was awesome. We had a room with a kitchenette that had, sink, microwave and fridge. A Whole Foods Market is just a couple blocks up the street too. Found it useful to pay the $18 a day to leave car in parking garage located up against hotel. Therefore very easy to get car out and travel 20 min. away to Mount Vernon. A hotel's shuttle service was offered free of charge within the town. However, just a couple blocks away from hotel is the King St. Metro line junction and the free Trolley car line that takes you up and down the historical King St. with its many diverse shops and great atmospher. Definitely I will stay at this hotel everytime I"m in DC! If this review sounds too good to be true and you might think I am with this hotel. Nope. Just a tickled pink, finally back home traveler.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SilverStar31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    219
    67
    10
    5
See reviews for
280
171
39
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
190 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

I was only here for one night and got to the hotel after seven. The front desk folks were great in giving me some directions and offered the shuttle to get me to old down. I was looking for pizza and they pointed me in the direction of a couple of places. The parking was easy to access and I had no issue parking close. Old town is not a long walk from the hotel. I'd recommend staying here as it meets all of the high standards Marriott demands. Great value for the DC area as well.

Room Tip: Picked a high room facing Old Town Alexandria.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here last weekend for a friend's wedding at the George Washington Masonic Memorial which is less than a mile away. The location is great for exploring Old Town Alexandria. King Street is an easy two block walk from the hotel; it's quite a walk to the water, but there's a trolley/shuttle that is continuously running up and down King Street. We easily walked to dinner and shopping, and just enjoyed exploring the area.

The hotel staff was especially helpful, and the accommodations at the hotel were good. The room, as with other Residence Inns, included a kitchenette, complete with a full-size refrigerator which was particularly helpful for keeping drinks cold during the recent 100+ degree weather. There's also a Whole Foods nearby for groceries. The breakfast spread was one of the largest I've seen at a Residence Inn...lots of hot and cold choices, and plenty of seating. We also took advantage of the pool during our stay which was staffed by a lifeguard (always a good thing!). Overall, we had a great stay during our quick trip to Alexandria.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jbp19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, VA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

What a pleasant experience! The hotel had top notch amenities. A tasty and bountiful breakfast buffet. A free shuttle to take us to places of interest. Excellent location to the city's free trolley, metro stops, and Amtrak. Very comfortable bed. All the comforts of home. We stayed a weekend, but it is perfect for long stays. Only $109 per night!

Room Tip: The suite has a separate bedroom and a sleep sofa. Very comfortable for a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrs3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxvillian
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Wanted to stay close to our daughter who lives in Alexandria. Very nice and clean hotel. The room have a full kitchen, living area (which we didn't need or use) and separate bedroom. Great for long term stays! The bedroom was little small but since you pretty much just sleep in it, it was okay. Very comfortable bed. Note: They only have queen size beds!

Room Tip: All rooms only have a queen size bed, but also a pull out couch. If you are looking for a king, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k3ttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Here is what you get here, a queen bed and a pullout couch with lots of space a kitchen and couch that is the pullout. Everything here is great, the location, secure parking, nice queen bed etc.... But I gave his a low rating because I have two kids that slept (I spent one night) on a horrible pullout couch. This mattress (or maybe all pullout mattresses) was extremely uncomfortable. No big deal if a couple is spending the night but no more than two in a room. Also the breakfast is great and mon and Tuesday nights is dinner included with two beers or two glasses of wine included.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chitownfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
175 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

My family and I arrived the day after an epic storm that brought prolonged power failures to the area. The hotel had power, and therefore had a sudden influx of guests from locations that did not. A sign was posted on the doors stating that there were no vacancies, but the walk-ins and calls kept the front desk staff hopping. Still, they never let a guest wait more than a minute or two for help.
Later, the hotel did lose power for a few hours as repairs were made to other hard hit areas. Pete kept everything running smoothly, reassuring guests that the one elevator was operating on a generator and was safe to use. He never stopped moving, helping guests all weekend without ever seeming tired or stressed.
The entire property was immaculate, despite having full occupancy and being pet friendly. I never saw a single spot, piece of trash or item out of place. Housekeeping services were plentiful and completely unobtrusive.
The level of customer service at this Residence Inn should be the industry standard, it is exceptional!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GOarmywife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#8 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Property: Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Address: 1456 Duke St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing