We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxvillian
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Wanted to stay close to our daughter who lives in Alexandria. Very nice and clean hotel. The room have a full kitchen, living area (which we didn't need or use) and separate bedroom. Great for long term stays! The bedroom was little small but since you pretty much just sleep in it, it was okay. Very comfortable bed. Note: They only have queen size beds!

Room Tip: All rooms only have a queen size bed, but also a pull out couch. If you are looking for a king, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k3ttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    210
    65
    10
    5
See reviews for
258
156
38
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Here is what you get here, a queen bed and a pullout couch with lots of space a kitchen and couch that is the pullout. Everything here is great, the location, secure parking, nice queen bed etc.... But I gave his a low rating because I have two kids that slept (I spent one night) on a horrible pullout couch. This mattress (or maybe all pullout mattresses) was extremely uncomfortable. No big deal if a couple is spending the night but no more than two in a room. Also the breakfast is great and mon and Tuesday nights is dinner included with two beers or two glasses of wine included.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chitownfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
166 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My family and I arrived the day after an epic storm that brought prolonged power failures to the area. The hotel had power, and therefore had a sudden influx of guests from locations that did not. A sign was posted on the doors stating that there were no vacancies, but the walk-ins and calls kept the front desk staff hopping. Still, they never let a guest wait more than a minute or two for help.
Later, the hotel did lose power for a few hours as repairs were made to other hard hit areas. Pete kept everything running smoothly, reassuring guests that the one elevator was operating on a generator and was safe to use. He never stopped moving, helping guests all weekend without ever seeming tired or stressed.
The entire property was immaculate, despite having full occupancy and being pet friendly. I never saw a single spot, piece of trash or item out of place. Housekeeping services were plentiful and completely unobtrusive.
The level of customer service at this Residence Inn should be the industry standard, it is exceptional!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GOarmywife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Perfect for our family reunion of 26 people, including babies. The first level dining room is the ideal meeting place for take out pizzas or just family board game get togethers. Seating arrangements are a variety of booths, soft bleachers to individual padded chairs.

Breakfast is unbelievable. Everything you could think of, they have, healthy choices too. Hot buffet, cold fresh fruit. They even walked around and gave the kids stickers and activity sheets.

There is plenty of places to plug in your laptop, a full bar with swivel stools to work or eat on, along with lots of plugs for your cell phones.

The staff is so friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to help us whether it be an emergency (one of the little ones fell and ended up with stitches on his head), or finding a small screwdriver to open a toy battery. Nothing was too small for them to handle with a smile.

TIP: Parking is cheaper and free after hours in the streets, especially behind the building. Or you can park at the hotel for a daily hefty price.

BONUS: Free shuttle within a mile (to old town), easy walk to Starbucks and Whole Foods.

WHY NOT 5 stars? They do not have any rooms with two beds, only single beds with pull out sofas. Also, the indoor pool is yucky.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mozartmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed 8 nights Staff great we had a young guest stay with us for two nights and they were so welcoming. Location great able to walk to Old Town and Whole Foods as well as Metro . Will stay there again

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank PCB8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I am a Marriott Gold member and I have stayed at many Marriotts including this one. At my most recent stay I noticed some sort of irritation on my skin, I simply thought this was due to an allergic reaction, bed bugs did not even cross my mind. When I got home the irritations had gotten much worse and I decided to go to a Doctor. The doctor confirmed that they were bed bug bites and there wasn't much they could do about it. I spent the next two weeks being miserable due to this, not to mention the embarassment as they were all over my arms, hands, and including a few on the side of my face. I am certain that this occured at this Marriott, but of course when I complained I got a similar response to that of another poster that they had a third party research this and nothing could be found. I also had a marriott claims person simply send me an email telling me to call her, which I did and left her a message but she did not return my phone call. I did a google search and found other reports of bed bugs at this hotel including one as recent as a few months ago. To say the least I am not satisfied with their response. I can understand why a hotel would deny any existence of bed bugs as it would be a PR nightmare but I am 100% certain it occured at this hotel despite the managers denial.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JLP2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Thank you for your post. As I mentioned previously, we take all issues very seriously, particularly those that involve the health and safety of our guests. As a result of your comments, we contracted an outside company to thoroughly inspect your suite as well as those in close proximity. According to our vendor, there was no trace of any pests in your suite or the immediate area. Additionally, we would be happy to provide this report to you if that would be helpful.

We sincerely appreciate you bringing this to our attention as we would definitely work to solve the problem quickly if one could be found. I also welcome a chance to speak with you about the experience. If you'd like, please call me directly at (703) 310-3040.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
163 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We spent a long weekend in the Washington, DC area with family and stayed at this Residence Inn. The facility is very nice, coffee in lobby all the time along with newspapers. Front desk staff on all shifts were great, friendly and helpful. Free dinner on Thursday was an unexpected, breakfast each day was amazing. Free shuttle to Metro or Old Town was above and beyond. Rooms were comfortable, a service problem was resolved very quickly. The swimming pool was small, but nice and the life guard was exceptional. All in all a great stay, would go back anytime we are in the area. Lastly, my 6 year old daughter received a free Teddy Bear from the front desk staff, that made her day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank facca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 1,149 reviews
Eisenhower East
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#6 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Property: Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Address: 1456 Duke St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3403
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing