We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“5 star customer service and great FREE food and drinks :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Imperial Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“5 star customer service and great FREE food and drinks :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

Came here for a business trip and was very satisfied with the room. Huge, open space and loved the full size fridge and sofas. I had trouble with my TV on 2 occasions where it wouldn't turn on with the remote, but the front desk credited my Marriott account with points for the hassle. The maintenance men came up to fix my TV quickly also. Their breakfast was great, scrambled eggs, sausage, hashbrowns, yogurt, granola...so much more than your continental breakfast. What I was most impressed with is that they have free dinner every night also. I wish I had went every night I stayed but I didn't know how good it would be. The day I went they had ravioli and fresh bread, salad and 2 free drinks (wine or beer) per room. What a bonus! Great customer service at front desk and everyone who worked there was pleasant and nice. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: They make you sign a "noise policy" so don't come here if you plan on throwing a party...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank choppergirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    210
    66
    10
    5
See reviews for
266
163
38
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights here. We were here for a Cheer and Dance competition at National Harbor, which took 10-15 minutes to get to by car.
Our room was good size, very clean, with full kitchen and separate sleeping area. Furnishings slightly worn, but this did not deter from anything.
Lobby area with marbled floors leads to breakfast and lounge area with fireplace and TV.
The free breakfast buffet was exceptional with many choices both hot and cold. Choices include eggs,bacon,sausage,home fries,french toast and waffles. Fresh fruit, cereals,bagels,pastries and yogurts. We were not back evenings for Happy Hour meal.
Overall, staff very friendly and accomodating. Metro and train station within walking distance, although hotel shuttle will take you anyplace within a mile.
Covered parking area accessible from hotel's second floor.

Room Tip: Laundry and exercise room on second floor. We were on the fifth, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank agrillo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

Extremely accomodating! Upon arrival, we discovered there was some confusion surrounding our booking dates (our mistake); they not only were cool about it, they gave us one of the best rooms they had for what we had originally selected! Shuttle service was flexible and wonderful (picked us up per our phone call from a restaurant). Breakfast was a great spread, and everyone was so pleasant. Would go there again in a heartbeat, and have already recommended it to others

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EMTinLancasterPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

Just got back from a 4 day business trip to Washington, D.C. Luckily our group decided to save some money and stay outside of the city, and we booked our reservations in this great hotel. The room exceeded my expectations. It had a large refrigerator (not the dorm room size), small stove, sitting area and large bathroom.
The hotel is between 0.2-0.3 miles from the nearest subway/bus/train station. We took the subway into Washington, D.C. and it only was a half hour ride. Train passes are about $10.00 per day. The hotel does charge a daily parking fee, and at the time of my stay, it was $18.00 per day.
The room was spotless and very comfortable. The neighborhood it is in is wonderful. The trees on the streets were lit up at night, and made for a relaxing walk after a stressful, busy day in the Capital. Another bonus is the fact that the hotel is one block away from Whole Foods! The total cost wasn't cheap by any means, but way less expensive than staying in Washington, D.C. I would definitely stay here again when I come back for a family trip!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

We usually stay at the Lorian but our two stays at the Marriott over 10 days were much better. First we had a large suite as opposed to one smallish room at the Lorient. Second, the Mariott was much quieter that the Lorian (even with the air con off at the Lorian we found some of the rooms to be too noisy for us). Third, the Marriott was far better value (unless you can get breakfast for a $ at the Lorian it can work out rather expensive). Fourth, everyone at the Marriott was exceptionally helpful.

The Lorian is a good hotel, modern with friendly staff but the Marriott beats it, in our opinion, in every aspect.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRMEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

We used points for the stay and it far exceeded our expectations. I'm silver, and even though we used points upon asking at check in they gave us an upgraded two bedroom suite. This was really nice since we had our 2.5 year old with us. Also at check in they gave my son a teddy bear and then at breakfast the next morning they gave him a cute toddler cup and cars, which he loved. They allowed us late checkout as well.

Location was great. Two short blocks to the King street metro (30 minutes to the DC mall area). Also ate dinner on King street.

The room was nice and spacious and everything we needed. Wonderful stay and we will return on our next NOVA or DC trip.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel4fuun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
194 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

I picked the Rsidence because they have great deals on the weekends and I was in Alexandria to be with friends. It is an 8-story building, new, clean, and located right on Duke St which is a major thoroughfare. It is one block from Whole Foods so if you are staying long term, there is shopping in the area. I liked my room just fine. It is exactly like other Residence Inns. I didn't like the $18 a night parking fee. So, it adds up...but it is a good location. Staff was friendly and rooms were absolutely spotless so those helped. It is pretty empty on the weekends, especially in January. I am also a Silver Elite so I got free wifi, I think everyone gets it though which is a huge plus!

Room Tip: Closer to elevator; bit of a labyrinth
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tampann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#8 of 54 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Eisenhower East
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Property: Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Address: 1456 Duke St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3403
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing