We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but parking is expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2012

I picked the Rsidence because they have great deals on the weekends and I was in Alexandria to be with friends. It is an 8-story building, new, clean, and located right on Duke St which is a major thoroughfare. It is one block from Whole Foods so if you are staying long term, there is shopping in the area. I liked my room just fine. It is exactly like other Residence Inns. I didn't like the $18 a night parking fee. So, it adds up...but it is a good location. Staff was friendly and rooms were absolutely spotless so those helped. It is pretty empty on the weekends, especially in January. I am also a Silver Elite so I got free wifi, I think everyone gets it though which is a huge plus!

Room Tip: Closer to elevator; bit of a labyrinth
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tampann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 760 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2012

Stayed three nights at the Residence Inn over the MLK weekend. We chose this hotel for the close proximity to the DC Metro King Street stop-a quick 5 minute walk. The hotel is two blocks off of King Street for an easy walk to many shops and restaurants. Hotel offers a shuttle or you can hop on the free Old Towne trolley that makes frequent stops up and down King Street.

We had a very comfortable one bedroom suite that included a full kitchen. Breakfast is offered each morning, but the evening social is only Mondays-Thursdays. Breakfast was an extensive buffet of hot and cold items such as cereal, yogurt, eggs, waffles, fruits, bagels, etc...Coffee is offered all day long. Free Washington Post and USA Today newspapers.

Front desk and staff were very friendly and helpful. Parking is onsite for $18 a day-a deal compared to other hotels nearby.
We will most definitely stay at this hotel again when visiting Alexandria.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LynnVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

The employees are very nice and the hotel itself if good...What is buried in their website and not published on the itinerary is a 150.00 per stay pet fee...Now, i could understand if your staying 1 week, 1 month (because it is an extended stay hotel) then 150.00 is reasonable....But, if your staying 1 night...that fee is 3 times what any other pet friendly hotel in the area are charging....

Shame on me for not checking thoroughly on their website (buried 3 levels deep) but, I wanted to alert others that may fall into the same situation.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John_from_Ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Had a great stay with free breakfast buffet each day and free happy hour/light dinner on weekdays. Cozy and clean suite with ammenities in a room facing towards Duke street. Friendly staff, too. Convenient to King St Metro station - 2 city blocks away. Convenient to Old Town shops and restaurants too. Whole Foods 1 block away to stock the fridge! Hitch a ride on the King Street Trolley (free) to explore.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rainacloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Great hotel, great location. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magbook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Great location for walking into Old Town Alexandria. Standard, spacious Residence Inn Rooms and helpful service.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Meister2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

I had to stop in Alexandria due to an auto accident on Hwy 301. I was told to try and find a hotel outside of Old Town because Old Town would be too expensive. Well, all the hotels were fully booked. (This was 3 days before New Years!) So, I was forced to go into old town and try to find something. I drove into the Residence Inn-Marriott and thought it would be over the top expensive. The hotel appeared new, the lobby is inviting with marble floors, a cozy fireplace area with TV, and a good sized breakfast/happy hour area. Price: under $140. That is soooo reasonable for being in the heart of old town. Breakfast is a full on buffet and the Happy Hour has a full meal! You really don't need to eat out at all! And this is all included in the price. Oh, I forgot, you also get 2 drinks included in the Happy Hour.
Location: One block from the Metro which takes you any where you want to go. You are only a few blocks stroll to the water front, too. It is a wonderful historic walk.

Room Tip: There are 3 elevators, so any floor is ok. Parking and excercize room are on the 2nd floor, so it p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1crissytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,475 reviews
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,307 reviews
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Address: 1456 Duke St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: $124 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing