We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a sandwich and soup on a cold day”

Potbelly Sandwich Works
Ranked #182 of 754 Restaurants in Alexandria
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Windsor, Colorado
Level Contributor
318 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great place for a sandwich and soup on a cold day”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

My son and I hadn't had lunch after checking into our hotel on King Street. We walked over to the Potbelly Sandwich Works. I had a skinny turkey and cup of chili. The sandwich was toasted and very good. The Chili was also very good. I'd recommend both. It was snowing outside and the wind was blowing and it was a welcome place to eat.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RLMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    16
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“My favorite breakfast place, great egg and cheese sandwiches”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

By far my favorite meal at the Potbelly is breakfast. Usually it's the egg and cheese sandwich with jalapeno peppers. I think I've been to most of the sites in D.C. at one time or the other, all have been good. But the Crystal City Mall is the one I hit the most. One Metro stop up from Reagan, so I usually stop in after a morning flight to decompress and stoke up. Fresh baked cookies and I've never had any complaints about the coffee.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jax848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernley, NV
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Sandwiches”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We were starving after touring the DC area and this place was recommended to us and it was great. We loved the sandwiches. I'm not a fan of spicy and the peppers that come on the sandwiches were too spicy for me. The next time I made sure to say no to them. We actually ate here twice during our trip

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kellie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burkburnett
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Potbelly food for potbellied guys.”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Nothing especially original about the food, but it was good. A good place for lunch without taking much time. Local office workers were there, so it must be consistently okay or they wouldn't be there.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank russell m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, VA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Potbelly is an Eclectic Joint”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I frequent the PotBelly located in the Underground aka among the Crystal City Shops. You have the option to dine-in (plenty of table seating/booths) or order online and carry-out. I go there occassionally for breakfast or and more frequently for lunch. My favorites are the Uptown or Farmhouse Chicken Salad. They offer handsome helpings so you may have to split it into two meals. They make great hot sandwiches (I enjoy the TKY Skinny). Grab a bag of chips and a drink and voila there goes your luncthtime meal. There is a lunchtime crowd so I usually take advantage of pre-ordering online. You can pay online or at time of pickup. It is the most convenient eatery close to my job. They also make great shakes and have fresh baked cookies each day. During the week they have a local or amateur signer, guitarist set up shop and sing which adds to the atmosphere..it is an eclectic joint!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HerJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Potbelly Sandwich Works also viewed

Alexandria, VA
Alexandria, VA
 
Alexandria, VA
 

Been to Potbelly Sandwich Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing