We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite neighborhood cheap n cheerful restaurant”
Review of Caphe Banh Mi

Caphe Banh Mi
Ranked #16 of 757 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Neighborhood: Old Town
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Old Town
Kabul
Level Contributor
89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Our favorite neighborhood cheap n cheerful restaurant”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The food here is always very good and fresh. I generally always have the house pho which is outstanding. The sandwiches are not as good abut still good value. The restaurant itself is small and rather cramped but it has a nice vibe and the staff are courteous if not friendly.given its proximity to the tourists on king street it is a wonder it is still such a neighborhood venue - long may it continue.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kabulpickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    77
    11
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Key West FL
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good pork sandwich and great pho”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

First, it's a very small restaurant. When I visited in the evening once, we had to wait just a few minutes for a table. The other time it was relatively empty. One time I had the pork sandwich, very tasty and cheap too (5 or 6 bucks). The other time I had pho and it was like 7 or 8 bucks and it would have fed 2 people. No complaints on the service or cleanliness of the restaurant. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Uptown Quality At Downtown Prices”
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

This neighborhood gem is less and less of a secret, as you may find yourself stuck with a wait during peak lunch times. The space is pleasant and clean, the faces a mix of Vietnamese locals who know the food and your basic Alexandria young professional types. Hey, the food is very good, nice fresh ingredients and authentic dishes. This is not your strip mall pho joint, the quality is better, whether you want fresh, yummy bang mi sandwiches or noodles or spring rolls. The sandwiches are just $6 or $7, can't go wrong with this quality at that price. Not a lot of tables and none very large, so it may be tough to bring a larger party or a larger family, but the quality and prices make this a nice option for parents with kids on tow. It's in our rotation as a nearby place to keep in our rotation of regular stops. Not fine dining if you're in from out of town and want something on the high end, but well above average neighborhood quality.

Helpful?
Thank AJSchuler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great for the price”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I got a pork and egg banh mi and the crispy spring rolls. It definitely hit the spot. The spring rolls were really crisp and flavorful. The banh mi was huge and pretty tasty. A little lacking in spice and zesty flavor for my preference, but a good meal.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank alyssa_boone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jumpin' all over the world
Level Contributor
188 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Food, prices and atmosphere all good -- for vegetarians too”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We first went to Caphe Banh Mi in July with a friend who wasn't familiar with Vietnamese food, and we all really enjoyed our meals -- and frankly, couldn't believe how affordable it was. We went again in October with a vegetarian friend, who was very pleased with their range of vegetarian options, including veggie pho. Having spent quite a bit of time in Vietnam, I'm fairly picky about Vietnamese food, and will definitely go back to Caphe Banh Mi again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RachelinKabul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caphe Banh Mi also viewed

 

Been to Caphe Banh Mi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing