We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good comfort food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cheesetique

Cheesetique
Reserve with OpenTable
Cheesetique is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #50 of 729 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quite good comfort food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've been to Cheestique a number of times since it opened. It has a nice variety of food and wine, and charcuterie as well. I've tried different mac and cheeses, sandwiches, cheese plates, and salads, all of which have been good. There can be a bit of a wait on weekend nights, but it's been better since the back section was opened. You can browse in the wine and cheese shop at the front while you wait.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DelRayKate1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill E, Owner at Cheesetique, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Cheesetique! You are right - before we opened the larger second dining room, the wait could be quite lengthy. The additional space has been a life-saver. I'm so glad you've enjoyed the dishes you've chosen!

All the best,
-Jill Erber (owner, Cheesetique)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    41
    13
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a surprise. Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We went there with the kids for dinner. The place was almost empty but it looked very good so we decided to try it, a great decision.
The host was very nice and accommodating and our waitress was amazing. She took very good care of us (my mother asked if they had a fruit salad and they didn't but after few minutes she came out with some slouched fruits).
We took the large tray (10 cheeses for 45$), they were tasty and interesting.
The kids took mac&cheese but they didn't like it, they have beef franks on the dinner menu with some special sauce but they made it plain so the kids will eat it.

Next time I'm in Alexandria I'm going back there.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank nirya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill E, Owner at Cheesetique, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Huge thanks for your super review of Cheesetique! I'm thrilled to hear that you received such great service and that your cheeses (and other items) were yummy. The plain hot dogs work well for lots of our young guests - I'm glad you discovered them!

Again, thank you!
-Jill Erber (owner, Cheesetique)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
161 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A Must for Cheese Lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

If you love specialty cheese shops, this is the place to go. Quality and creativity of food and preparation were outstanding. Excellent wine choices and paring suggestions. Only down side it the limited seating. Server was atttentive and friendly as well as provided good meal suggestions. We liked it so much that we wanted to stop on the way back from our vacation just to eat there :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank slstretch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill E, Owner at Cheesetique, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
What an awesome endorsement! Thank you so much for writing about Cheesetique! Next time you're in, make sure to try out our large second dining room - it's cozy and roomy. Perhaps during your next vacation ;)

All the best,
-Jill Erber (owner, Cheesetique)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“All Around Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

A friend recommended this place to celebrate my birthday. What a find! We were a party of 3 and had a great seat-with a comfy couch on one end of the table. The waitstaff were extremely well versed in the menu and wine selections. We were given recommendations that could not have been better! The cheese/meat board as an appetizer is a good choice. For entrees, one friend had the Cheestique signature mac and cheese-she raved about it and ate every bite. My other friend is still having dreams about her pimento grilled cheese sandwich and my grilled cheese was the best I have ever tasted-these are adult grilled cheese sandwiches with very exotic combinations. They do have a kids menu, too. Try this place! You won't be disappointed. Note- we were there on a weeknight and it was still packed so call ahead.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mjfromva040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill E, Owner at Cheesetique, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you thank you thank you! What a fantastic review. I'm so happy you enjoyed your meal with us - the "sofa table" really is the best! We just released our new menu in April - we hope you come back soon to give it a whirl.

All the best,
-Jill Erber (owner, Cheesetique)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A piece of france next to DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Amazing. From the appearance to the food to the wine to the people, one of the best experiences we have had. Christine behind the bar did more than just serve us. She insured that from start to finish we were taken care of and made to feel special. Not since visiting france we have had such cheese. All I can say is cheese glorious chese. And it was glorious. Everything was glorious. It will be a must stop the next time we visit dc.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank birthdayabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill E, Owner at Cheesetique, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
What a "glorious" review! Thank you so much for visiting us - and for sharing your great experience! I certainly hope you visit us again when you return to DC. Oh - and I'll pass along your comments to Christina... she'll love it!

Again, thanks!
-Jill Erber (owner, Cheesetique)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheesetique also viewed

 

Been to Cheesetique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing