We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cheese selection”
Review of Cheesetique

Cheesetique
Reserve with OpenTable
Cheesetique is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #60 of 759 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe, Wine Bar
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
400 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Great cheese selection”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I like the different cheeses they have that Whole foods and other places may not have. I also like that you can taste it first.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ExPat0331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    46
    15
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Amazing!”
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Such a great restaurant - love the atmosphere, friendly staff and great cheese! Enjoyed wine and cheese at the bar and had a wonderful time

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mps0224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“It's all about the cheese”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I admit that I am a complete cheese nut and I would eat here everyday if my wallet or waistline could afford it. The wait staff is knowledgeable and I always welcome their recommendations. The Spring/Summer menu offers up a variety of soups, cheese sandwiches, mac and cheeses, salads, and the charcuterie cheese boards. The grilled caprese is a combination of mozzarella, tomatoes and basil and coupled with a bowl of tomato soup is as close to heaven as one might come in Virginia!

I regularly order a salad and cheese board to satisfy my craving for cheese and variety. The arugula with baked goat cheese and a tangy lemon dressing is just the thing to offset the richness of a double cream D'affinois or a silky Humbolt Fog. Boards may be ordered with 2, 3, or 6 cheese or meat (pate, salami, ham, etc) and there are a variety of sweet and savory garnishes available as well.

There are several variations of mac and cheese but the truffle infused breadcrumb topping gets the highest marks. If you must have meat, try the mac and sausage.

Since Cheesetique is actually a wine and cheese shop with an appended bar and cafe, the wine selection is perfectly matched to each meal. If you are not particularly versed in wines, allow the wait staff to make recommendations for you. Beer is also available.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank never2old2try
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Cheese and wine heaven!”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

If your idea of a great meal out is a platter of cheese and fixings and plenty of wine- this is your kind of place. And if it's not, you'll still love it. The selection of cheese and wine is simply amazing for a such a small venue. Not only is it a fully functioning store, the back has a bar and seating for the restaurant area, and there is a nice outdoor dining area as well. Menu was much more extensive than I expected for a small venue- cheese and many on-cheese items alike. Full menu is online to view. Service was great, our server was very helpful in suggesting cheese and wines to pair. Also handy is free parking behind the building (bring in the tag and they will verify if for you). Very nice area to explore, if you've been through Old Town and need some new sights, check out Del Ray.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ladybug1330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Crowded”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I've only eaten at the flagship in Del Ray -- not in Shirlington, and I haven't been there since they expanded. The food is respectable, but when I've visited the menu was limited, the dining room (and outdoor spots) were crowded and the vibe a little full of itself. I understand that since the shop is expanding these things may have changed.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Peggie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheesetique also viewed

 

Been to Cheesetique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing