We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for fun, not for fine dining”
Review of Medieval Madness

Medieval Madness
Ranked #492 of 763 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Description: Comedy, dinner-theater.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Go for fun, not for fine dining”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

As many have said, the idea is the food and drinks are what you would expect in 15th Century England. Food is served family style but portions are small if you share evenly. Basically you get three courses. Service is a little slow such as you could consume your meat before the veggies show up. Drinks are designed to mirror the way things were made 600 years ago. You can get modern cocktails though. The show is more like a skit performed by the staff with some audience participation. There was a knight fight that was probably more aggressive than space allowed.

They are moving to a larger building mid 2014. I may go back to see what they can do in a larger space. All things considered I'm glad I went. Some regulars get into it and actually dress to the period (never comfortable around guys in quilts).

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stanley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Bachelorette Party Fun (and bachelor)”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We combined the fun for this one night (I am the sister of the groom) and it was great. We got a group rate, prime seating, and had lots of laughs. The food was plentiful and decent, nice drinks (additional drinks cost money) but I was not sure what to expect after attending the OTHER knight show (Medieval Tymes) NOT THE SAME THING! This was still really really cool, funny, and entertaining. Parking sucks! Had to walk, pay on street. But I would go back! You are paying for the venue, the non-profit (?) theatre aspect and the alcohol more than the food, lighting, and comfy seats.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mineral2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Stabbing Fun”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This was fun! Mark Sutton and Ellen Walsh joined us. It was funny and an experience. I think I prefer the venue to stadium shows with horses and gallantry. Probably half of the jokes were about rough relations between partners and half of the food was okay. The company was the best.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank innerbum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
462 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Fantastic. Fun, fun, fun.”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This has got to be the best experience in Old Town. The food...while good...should ot be the reason for visiting Mediveal Madness. It is basic. It is what the guilded class ate 600 years ago. The "show" is fantastic. While it may not win any Tony awards, the cast put their heart into the show. And, they try to incorporate current events int the basic script. Warning, the cast can get carried-away and as a result some of the jokes can get a little off-colour but they are still funny. The price of admission included two pints of beer/ale.

You need to book this restaurant at least three weeks in advance.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wineaux FromAlexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
341 reviews
297 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Food, show and fun”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

First, the food...they say it is done with the spices of that era and it was great. There was enough for everyone to have at the table and extra if needed. The prices for the drinks were not out of line for a place like this.
Then, the show...absolutely top rated, funny and timed just right.
I plan to go back as this was truly a treat for good food (hey, I'm not saying it's 4 star, but good) and great entertainment!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank corkscrewd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medieval Madness also viewed

Alexandria, VA
 

Been to Medieval Madness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing