We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Time Traveling back in time to a medieval court” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Medieval Madness

Medieval Madness
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Medieval Madness Feast is located inside John Strongbow's Tavern. It features medieval entertainment that incorporates the arts and history to join people and communities in fun and good fellowship. Reservations include a four-course feast with dishes like Gallentyn Pye, Chicken Skewers Roasted in Plum Sauce, Three-berry tart and more. Food and seating are arranged family style. Reservations required.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fabulous Time Traveling back in time to a medieval court”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

From the moment you walk in you are in a time machine. The attendants all in period costume make you welcome and you are transported to the year after the slaughter of the French by the quintessential combat leader of medieval England, Henry V. You are seated at a medieval styled banquet table and given a mug for your ale. The ale is included in your fee which is reasonable as you will encounter a sumptuous feast that would try the stomach of Henry VIII. The roast beef and chicken are well prepared and tasty and there are more side dishes then my memory can recall. The serving wenches are actually English, pretty and helpful. Great service by the entire staff. Then there is the feature presentation, the goings on in the court of an English lord, just back from Agincourt, where in 1415 Henry V regained his patrimony in France. The play was witty and presents the age old battle of the sexes where the combat commander must submit to the Lady of the Castle. I highly recommend this for children from 8 to 80, either gender as there is something in the presentation that everyone will like.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank BonVivant39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    10
    7
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

This place was the bomb!! I got a groupon for it and thought i would try it out. It was so much fun!! The 4 course food was great and the drinks were even better. I finally got to have mead and it was SO good! The blueberry beer was great also. I got to be part of the show and then drink free for the rest of the night. They chance their script every 4 months and i will definately be back!! Thanks so much, lord and lady!!!

Best of luck! :)

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ardufresne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A Little Medieval in Colonial Olde Towne Alexandria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

Don't be looking for any medieval castle in Olde Towne, but have the address in hand as the restaurant can easily be missed in the mist of colonial Olde Towne storefronts on the main street. Once you enter the front door you are transformed to another time period with medieval decor and greeted by charactor actors/servants in period dress of the time, who will lead you to your table and seat. You will share one of two long communal tables along each side of a long narrow room.

The dining hall has been reproduced as close as possible to medieval specs that included the construction of the the tables and chairs and tableware. The 'thrones' of the King and Queen has been carved by master craftsmen. The hall is dimly light with candles as there were no electricity 'back then.' While the hall is medieval, the limited restroom facilities are modern day and will experience lines at peak times.

Your dinner will be typical medieval fare following actual medieval recipes and is served family style with food bowls meant to be shared with 4-6 fellow table companions. The wenches will bring you more refills as needed. You will want to be sure your hands are clean as you will be eating with them as no forks and knives were invented yet and since salt was expensive in those times, no salt or pepper is used or anywhere in sight. Fortunately for us, a nearby table companion had been there before and brought his own salt shaker and shared it. If you plan on drinking beer, which is included in the price, you pick up your medieval tanker after you're seated and will gladly be refilled as frequently as you like and then returned at the end of the dinner. Other beverages/drinks are available for sale at the bar.

Between courses the servers who are also the actors will perform and/sing to a script that changes. The Kings and Queen presides over the evening and was thoroughly entertaining. The night we attended was the beginning of a new script that was both relevant to current events and funny with the incorporation of audience participation for a couple of the parts. Children under the 10 may not get the jokes though. At the end, the knights perform a medieval marshal arts sword fight for their fair maiden.

For a totally different experience to your 'colonial' visit, spending an evening with 'Medieval Madness' is an entertaining escape from the modern world.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome night out. We keep going back. They strive to be authentic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

We first attended with a Groupon. Since then, we have gone back twice more on our own and brought a group with us once.

They strive to be authentic. From the hand-carved chairs to the food (they have changed the menu as they learn more about what foods were available and eaten at the time) to the real sword fight using the Medieval martial art. (It's not choreographed-- the knights are out to win!) And, the food is quite tasty, even if you have to eat with your hands. :-)

You'll dine while the wenches bring you more ale and the sword fight happens in the middle of the room. The wenches and minstral will sing from time to time. During the evening a play is carried out, involving the Duke and Duchess, and you are the guests for a banquet, though the occasion for the feast varies. They change the script every few months, and it's been great fun to watch the overall story arc develop. And, when they drop in references to prior events from earlier scripts, it's fun to be "in the know."

It's great for kids and adults. We have a blast every time and I highly recommend it to people.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling_Gal_Renee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medieval Madness also viewed

 

Been to Medieval Madness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing