We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent ice cream” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pops Old Fashioned Ice Cream

Pops Old Fashioned Ice Cream
Ranked #3 of 31 Dessert in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Old Town
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Had the chocolate chocolate chip, and the cookie dough ice cream and it was amazing. They have hundreds of flavors of their home made ice cream. Its definitely a must stop in Alexandria .

Helpful?
Thank Jayjon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    58
    23
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A must stop for summer ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Pop's is your typical small-town ice cream parlor in an old town location. Flavors abound and service is quick. I've never been disappointed at Pop's!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank MarathonFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Better Off Going to CVS”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I love supporting local businesses and have tried almost everything within a 5 block radius of my house in Old Town. That being said, after having the worst ice-cream sundae of my life, I decided that I was better off going to CVS for a pint of whatever is on special, than wasting another penny at Pop's. Tourists, I know you think it is cute, but do not waste your money, and go to the Ben & Jerry's, your tastebuds will thank you.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank watchknut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax County, Virginia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Right in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

If you are from New England, and you like Black Rasberry they have it here. It's almost as good. Take it out and walk down to the river to get a good view of the river.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Empathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream I've ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I thought I had found the best ice cream in the world in Maui. I was wrong. This is the best Ice Cream in the world. The best homemade Ice Cream I've ever had. The serve is a 2 star, nice people, but they don't really care. The Ice Cream though is a 8 star, so I gave it 5 star. The best in my estimation is the cookie dough ice cream. LARGE chunks of cookie dough surrounded by smooth, creamy vanilla ice cream.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vindex_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pops Old Fashioned Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Pops Old Fashioned Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing