We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good "Comfort" food”

Ted's Montana Grill
Ranked #55 of 757 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Ted's Montana Grill serves time-honored American favorites in an atmosphere inspired by the hospitality, food and spirit of the Old West. Our mission is to give guests a fresh, authentic and original experience with every visit. Ted's Montana Grill's made-from-scratch menu is known for our premium hand-cut steaks and gourmet burgers. The menu also offers a variety of time-honored favorites such as crab cakes, cedar plank salmon, daily soups, seasonal vegetables, and house-made desserts. Open for Lunch and Dinner daily.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Really good "Comfort" food”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Teds gives you really good "comfort" food that is tasty and a bit unique. You got to try the buffalo items. It's really good and you can't just find buffalo on any menu. All in all, a real dining treat.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    85
    28
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“WOW, pleasant surprise, picked this off my navigator and was NOT disappointed!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I never thought I would try the bison, but our waiter, Rob, convinced me to try it, and if I didn't like it, he would exchange my meal for beef no questions asked. So, I gave it a shot. I was pleasantly surprised. I had the Avalon burger and my husband had the open face knife and fork chili cheese burger. The French fries were AMAZING, and the squash casserole was good too. We will definitely make a return trip for bison steaks when we are hungrier. I cannot wait to taste the ribeye and have more French fries!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank McQ101009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
267 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Prime rib was medium as ordered and had a very nice flavor. Squash casserole was very good too. Overall very good. Not great but very good. Service was OK. I've had better prime rib but this was very good.

Helpful?
Thank visamastermichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
278 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Love Ted's! Always get the buffalo in some form or another. Service is always very good. The decor is a little dark but it is quiet. Prices are moderate but well worth it. A do again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brackjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Used to be Better”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I've gone to Ted's in Crystal City and at this one. Several years ago, it used to be a lot better. It quickly became one of our favorite restaurants. We no longer live there, but during visits we would go, and the experience wasn't as good.

The food is okay. It used to be better. The bison burgers are kind of fun, but don't taste as good as the beef. The sliders are pretty good, and so are the onion rings. The have good root beer, too.

The service is average. Nothing special, but not bad either.

Overall, it is an average experience. We don't walk out bummed, but we remember the times when it was better.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ted's Montana Grill also viewed

 

Been to Ted's Montana Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing