We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay with a few challenges” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Alexandria Old Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Carlsbad, United States
1 review
“Good stay with a few challenges”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is a nice hotel and very conveniently located by the Metro station. The staff is good and the rooms are clean and modern. We had a few challenges during our stay. Beware that the restaurant will add a gratuity without telling you if you have 6 or more in your party. My Dad tipped on top of the automatic charge!!! That was a lot of money. Mary at the bar is amazing -- please see her if you stay there! And beware rooms near the elevator - the doors squeak and it is annoying.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    411
    127
    43
    23
See reviews for
256
280
81
412
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This is a perfect spot if you plan to visit DC and the surrounding areas. It is a minute walk to the metro and walking distance to shops and restaurants in Old Town. You can also catch the free trolley a few walking minutes away. We got the breakfast included....waffles, omelet or buffet with meat, eggs, fruit, and cereal. You do have a waiter, so be prepared to tip...2 adults and 2 children would have come out to $75 for their buffet (ouch!). As others have stated, the parking can be pricey but we had no trouble finding a spot or getting in and out. Courteous staff and clean rooms.

Room Tip: We could see the metro from our room but there was no noise level from it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DH95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This hotel in is a great location. Steps away from the Metro and a free trolley to historical Alexandria made getting around a breeze. When I return to the area, I will stay there again. We had breakfast as part of our package and was happy that fresh omelets came with the buffet. However I thought the additional $35 per night parking fee was high.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 421tannam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. The location perfect. Right next to the King St. Metro and a free troll ride into the heart of Old Alexandria. The staff was exceptionally friendly and rooms were clean and fresh. Must have been renovated recently? Never heard any noise from other guests or outside traffic and the beds and pillows very comfortable (I am really picky about them). We opted for the room with breakfast. It was a great deal, convenient and tasty. =o) The breakfasts might have been our kids (9 & 11) favorite part of the trip!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncansville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I chose the Hilton in Old Town because we do stay at Hilton's often and do use the reward points. I chose this Hilton for it's location and proximity to the King St. Metro as well. This was our first time staying at this hotel. From the moment we arrived we had a great experience. I had requested an early check in as we were going on a dinner cruise in the late afternoon and I wanted to be able to check in and get ready, plus have time to take the Metro to the Waterfront for the Spirit which takes about 25-30 min on the Metro. The staff was extremely friendly and upgraded our room as we were apparently the guest of the day. We were celebrating my husband's 50th Birthday weekend and were only staying at that property one night. The hotel is lovely. From the lobby to the beautiful bar, Starbucks and the restaurant which we had complimentary breakfast in. Our room which was a large suite and was clean and had several amenities including a living room with desk, couch, and television. The bath was clean and spacious and the bedroom had a large closet, plenty of drawer space and another seating area with a chair and ottoman. While the view looked out onto the cargo train tracks and the separate Metro station it didn't really matter to us because we were not in our room much except at night. We did not hear any trains at night and even during the day when the cargo train was running you could not really hear it. So all in all it really didn't matter what our view was for this trip because most of our time was spent outside. The King sized bed was extremely comfortable as I find is the case with Hilton's in general.
The proximity to the Metro as well as the ability to walk along the beautiful historic brick lined streets of Old Town Alexandria. There are plenty of shops and restaurants as well as a trolley that has several stops and is free of charge. The waterfront is just 15 blocks or so from the hotel and is an easy walk. Hop on the King St. Metro and forget your car! This was our first time staying here but it definitely won't be our last!

Location-Excellent! Directly across street from King St. Metro
Close to shops and restaurants
Within walking distance of the waterfront in Alexandria, Chart House Restaurant,
Starbucks, The Torpedo Factory (torpedo factory now used for artists
Plenty of shops and restaurants along the 15 block walk to/from the hotel or take the
trolley
Staff-friendly, helpful
Very clean lovely hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SiteSeeGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this property for the long July 4th weekend. I was looking forward to a place where we could ditch the car in favor of walking and public transportation; this definitely fits the bill. The front door is just a few steps (maybe a quarter block?) from the Metro, which zipped us to the Smithsonian museums, the National Mall for the 4th, Arlington Cemetery, and the Navy Yard/Nationals ballpark area with no hassles. It is a pleasant 17 block walk down the shop- and restaurant- lined King street to the river. There is also a free trolley that goes to the waterfront and back if one tires of walking.
The hotel public areas are clean and updated. We did not eat in the bar or restaurant because there were so many other options, but did take advantage of the convenient lobby Starbucks. Our room was updated with newer carpet and finishes. It was roomy, with a deep desk, comfortable desk chair, upholstered chair, sufficient tables, luggage stand. There were two double beds, a little small for two adults, but comfortable. The bathroom also had newer finishes and marble-ish tile shower with large shelf for toiletries and towel rack.
Shirley at the front desk was very helpful and professional at check in. We had a discounted parking rate with our package; check the website for pricing and factor in for the cost of your stay because I think it is pricey. BUT, the deck was clean, well lit, monitored and had easy access to the elevator. Wi-fi in the room was an additional charge (I think they quoted us around 15/night or around 25 for full stay), but there are areas in the hotel and in local businesses with free wi-fi. Overall, the hotel was clean, what one would expect at this price point, and a super convenient location.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank traverlerx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My wife and I are mid-stay at this hotel, and have been completely blown away today and yesterday by hotel management and their desire to simply fix any problem.

We checked in on a Sunday, and asked for breakfast rather than bonus points (a Hilton HHonors Gold perk at most Hiltons worldwide). On day two we ran into what looked like a system error that told the front desk that we shouldn't have breakfast included in our stay and made us worried that we'd be charged a good amount for something we thought would be included. I talked with the front desk, and was initially left with the problem unresolved. I wrote a review that night with a rating that reflected our frustration with this experience.

I have since deleted it. Here's why.

The next day, before Tripadvisor had even cleared my review for publication, we came back to our hotel room and found that management had gotten engaged and had fixed the breakfast problem. The review posted shortly thereafter, and it contained a few other complaints in addition to the breakfast, but was pretty frank about our frustration over the breakfast thing. It seems like a trivial detail, but it can feel a little Kafkaesque when you don't get what you should from the HHonors program.

The front office and the management team here was relentless in addressing those other problems, and apologetic about the breakfast mix-up. They stayed in consistent contact with my wife and I until everything was addressed, and went FAR above and beyond the call of duty to make sure the second half of our stay here will be excellent.

I have no question that it will be great.

So let me point out a few other things about this hotel that I mentioned as positives in the initial review. The location is great. The staff is excellent, and generally has been a pleasure to interact with. Once they were aware of the fact we were unhappy with the situation, they moved mountains to fix it. The quality of the hotel is very high (we noted at first a mattress that was pretty springy and tough, but have since discovered that the typical mattress here is very comfortable). The breakfast here is a great perk, versus other hotels that just put out some small cereal boxes and yoplait.

A small frustration with breakfast led to me writing a negative review in the first place, but the response from the hotel since that point deserves better than five stars. I would have no problem recommending this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side by the metro will have some unavoidable train noise. The hotel has gone to gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PHD856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#6 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,136 reviews
Kimpton Morrison House
#13 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 stars 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Alexandria Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Alexandria Old Town

Property: Hilton Alexandria Old Town
Address: 1767 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314-2720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Alexandria Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to Washington DC, the Hilton Alexandria Old Town is located on historic King Street in charming Old Town Alexandria, VA. Grab a cup of coffee at Starbucks, located in the lobby, before heading to the adjacent King Street Metro station to visit downtown Washington DC, Georgetown and Alexandria attractions. Take advantage of the onsite business center and Wi-Fi or squeeze in a workout at our fitness center. Enjoy a delicious meal at our KingStreet Tavern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Alexandria Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Hilton Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing