We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Easy access to DC and reasonable value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Alexandria Old Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Tasmania
Level Contributor
618 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“Easy access to DC and reasonable value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I was on a quick stopover in DC area and struggled to find a good value place to stay that offered some comfort. I selected this hotel as it was close to the metro (King St) and I was not disappointed. I paid USD150 and also got an upgrade to a corner King.

Positives:
- lovely area and close to transport into DC
- nice big TV
- comfy bed
- loads of maps and info at concierge
- large room with plenty of lamps/lighting
- reasonable value for DC area

Negatives:
- somewhat old fashioned room style and bathroom
- one tea bag only provided in room...
- undergoing renovations which was not advised on booking (fortunately due to jet lag, I was awake before the 10am start of noise
- lobby was not very welcoming
- paid wifi in room (USD16), but free in lobby!!! So paying guests have to pay in their room, but anyone can wander in off the street and use wifi...

Overall, I was satisfied and would return again if I was in transit in the DC area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wombatdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    391
    124
    43
    23
See reviews for
239
265
78
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This hotel was chosen for it's price and location and it turned out to be better than expected. Most hotels are not this quiet, so I was pleasantly surprised!
The room was clean, bed was comfortable and amenities were great.
I was located very near the train station which was convenient, plus I didn't hear the trains from my room. Also within walking to restaurants and cafes.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SKK63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Chose the hotel based on location, price and expected experience from Hilton brand. The hotel "delivered" on all three categories. The hotel is an easy walk to the Metro and Amtrak facilities @ King Street, yet surprisingly quiet inside the room. Also, a nice walk to the Old Alexandria shopping district. My wife and I had a pleasant two-night stay in November 2013. We expect to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Gregory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville,Md., United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

$200+ for this peanut room !! I get a better room at a Best Western and pay $40 a night .no parking fee, no city taxes ! Not the Hilton quality I expected to find ! No Breakfast ! ...Not even a microwave in the room !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie B, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. I'm very sorry that you were unhappy with the value of your stay.

There are packages available that include some of the items that you write about, which may create a greater value for your needs.

Thanks for the opportunity to address your concerns, We hope to be of service to you again.

Best Regards,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Got in very early room was available. Staff as always eager to please I enjoy folks knowing my name when I check in and being eager to make the stay the best it can be. Best hotel in Old Town. Definitely my preferred address while visiting DC easy access to metro.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie B, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel, and for the Excellent Review!

Thank you for the kind words about our staff; they will be pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to being of service to you again soon!

Sincerely,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
116 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Awesome stay! Very nice location next to the Metro station and across the street from joe theismann's. We had a great dinner there. Room service in the morning was great. A little expensive for breakfast.

Room Tip: Eat at joe theismann's across the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJmustangTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie B, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel, and for the Excellent Review!

We were pleased to learn that you had such an enjoyable time with us.

We look forward to being of service to you again soon!

Sincerely,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, VA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Excellent hotel, superb service, strategic location convenient to Washington, DC, Alexandria, VA and US government offices and military installations. Location and easy access to multi-media transportation, as well as reasonable prices should make any comptroller happy. Facility should please anyone on business travel, or on holiday. Service provided was top rung.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie B, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel, and for the Excellent Review!

Thank you for the kind words about our staff; they will be pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to being of service to you again soon!

Sincerely,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Alexandria Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Alexandria Old Town

Property: Hilton Alexandria Old Town
Address: 1767 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Alexandria Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to Washington DC, the Hilton Alexandria Old Town is located on historic King Street in charming Old Town Alexandria, VA. Grab a cup of coffee at Starbucks, located in the lobby, before heading to the adjacent King Street Metro station to visit downtown Washington DC, Georgetown and Alexandria attractions. Take advantage of the onsite business center and Wi-Fi or squeeze in a workout at our fitness center. Enjoy a delicious meal at our KingStreet Tavern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Alexandria Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Hilton Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing