We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had a great time at this Hilton over Labor Day Weekend. My wife and I decided to take a trip to DC on a whim and got a great rate here. Last year, my wife and I visited Old Town for the first time and were so impressed with the eclectic shopping and dining as well as the easy access to downtown DC (about 15 min ride to Metro Center Station). On our first visit, we booked the Hampton Inn on King Street and enjoyed our stayed. Although part of the same corporate family, this hotel exceeded our previous stay in several categories. This Hilton is located right on King Street (across from the Old Town Hampton Inn) and is adjacent to the King Street Metro. We booked a king-size bed room and the room was very spacious. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was also very large and accomodating. Additionally, this Hilton does a good job of taking care of their Hilton Honors customers (this seems to vary amongst Hilton hotels) - I made several requests in my room reservation (not near the elevator and ice machine, not on low floor, etc.) and was accomodated on all them. Hilton Honors members also have their own floor(s) in the hotel. We were also given complimentary bottles of cold water upon check -in - which was helpful considering its was 90+ degrees outside. We were also impressed that despite the fact that our room overlooked the Metro, we never once heard the train while we were sleeping or relaxing.

This hotel is top-notch and will be our preferred hotel in the area (I make lots of trips to the DC area). The only negative I would give is that the hotel seems to nickle-dime its guests on some basic amenities. I find wi-fi in your room to be a basic service, but the hotel charges $14.99 per device to have personal wi-fi access in your room. I just stayed at a Comfort Inn in upstate NY, by no means is that an equivalent hotel or market, but wi-fi was absolutely free. To the Hilton's credit, wi-fi is free in its lobby. The hotel also charges $25 for "early" check-in (I waited until normal check-in time), something most guests would not expect to pay for unless they were making an unusual request.

Additionally, parking at the hotel is $34 a night which is exorbitant (the Hampton Inn charged $15) - although I expect that I may have to pay for parking, the price that the hotel asks is too high. It is even more exorbitant when taking into account that there is free day-time parking on the weekend in the Metro station lot across the street and that there seemed to be plenty of overnight parking spots on the street this weekend. For weekend guests, I advise that you not pay for parking in the hotel garage, it simply isn't worth it.

Again, this hotel was great and excels when considering comfort, location, and professionalism. I highly recommend that you stay here when visiting the DC-area and Northern Virginia.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluescreen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,452)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Alexandria Old Town
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,080 - 1,086 of 1,452 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice hotel, good breakfast good position on King St, friendly receptionist. The public areas are nice and Starbucks is a good idea. We had a suite which was big but a little tired with stained carpet. The gym facilities were limited a handful of gym equipment (step, a bike and running) tucked away in a room on 2nd floor but at least there was some stuff in the gym room not just 1 machine and a couple of weights. We ran the next day as there is a fabulous 8 mile run down King Street and up across to the park by the River side. The husband and teenager ran almost to the airport and so many people were running. It was nice to see the Sat market full of people too. Car park was fine (expensive but comparable with other big towns) didn't find it tight and we had a 4X4. WiFi expensive though and a bit hit and miss in public areas.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YellowJellyBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed for one night and didn't disappoint. Easy Metro ride from Reagan National to King St station and one block walk to hotel. Countless restaurants from Subway to high end cuisine within easy walk from hotel. Fitness center is the biggest and most well equipped i've ever seen. Front desk staff very professional and helpful. Definitely will stay again.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great hotel in nice area with good restaurant options, and close to metro. I checked in and was told i was upgraded to a suite. Go to my room on the second floor and it was a business suite, so it just had a huge table in the extra room. I was on the second floor right outside the metro stop, but surprisingly you could no really here the metro. (there was a freight train that runs right next to the metro, and you cold here that, but it didn't run at night during my stay.) Hhonors gold free breakfast which was a buffet or a menu item. I was in a hurry so got a typical but still good Hilton buffet. Wish i would have had more time because the waiter said i could get any one thing of the menu as well. Would stay here again but would rather get a 6th floor room rather than a second floor business suite.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank truprunbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My friends & I came to Old Town for some r&r and that's exactly what we got at the Hilton. The staff were upbeat, pleasant & accommodating to our requests. I felt the communication prior & post stay via email reinforced the value they see in their customers. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Alexandria.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Nice clean hotel, friendly staff and a wonderfual bar/restaurant. Front counter check in was very efficient and pleasant. Hotel is a short walk from DC Metro and Amtrak station. Various shopping and other restaurants are in walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Timothy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Even for the first time visitor to Alexandia, this hotel is pretty easy to find...figuring out the parking once you get there is another story. Once you pull into the parking garage you'll have to drive all the way down to the basement (that's where the designated "Hilton" parking spaces are). And if you accidentally park in the wrong area you will get a ticket (luckily I didn't on this trip but I saw plenty of others who did). I've got to say that this parking garage hands down was one of the most confusing garage I've ever been in! I had a hard time finding the elevators to get to the hotel even after I parked. But after all that craziness for about 15 mins, I finally made it up to the hotel, which was very nice. Very clean. And a mostly helpful staff...(can't say much for the front desk help though). I had spent a couple nights in a room on the train station side of the building and just couldn't take the sound of the metro making stops and taking off again every 2 minutes all day and night, so I asked the front desk if I could change rooms (away from the train tracks). They said yes, I changed rooms, and...when I got to my new room it was on the front of the building directly facing the train tracks and also now King Street (which gets pretty busy).
So, basicly:
The Pros: it is a very nice hotel, good breakfast, friendly (mostly) helpful staff, and within walking distance to everything, and of course very close to the metro.
The Cons: Very close to the metro (noise), terrible parking garage, and the very expensive cost for anything extra (like Wifi, or breakfast...which I think should be complimentiary being that you are paying soo much just to sleep there).
So, all in all...it is a nice hotel to stay at (a bit pricey, but it is the city so "what can ya do".) Great location as far as being downtown close to everything, just a little too close to the train.

Room Tip: If you stay here just be very specific about wanting your room on the side facing away from the trai...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,290 reviews
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Alexandria Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Alexandria Old Town

Address: 1767 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314-2720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: $148 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Alexandria Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to Washington DC, the Hilton Alexandria Old Town is located on historic King Street in charming Old Town Alexandria, VA. Grab a cup of coffee at Starbucks, located in the lobby, before heading to the adjacent King Street Metro station to visit downtown Washington DC, Georgetown and Alexandria attractions. Take advantage of the onsite business center and Wi-Fi or squeeze in a workout at our fitness center. Enjoy a delicious meal at our KingStreet Tavern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Alexandria Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Hilton Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing