We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good position Big but tired rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Alexandria Old Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
166 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good position Big but tired rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice hotel, good breakfast good position on King St, friendly receptionist. The public areas are nice and Starbucks is a good idea. We had a suite which was big but a little tired with stained carpet. The gym facilities were limited a handful of gym equipment (step, a bike and running) tucked away in a room on 2nd floor but at least there was some stuff in the gym room not just 1 machine and a couple of weights. We ran the next day as there is a fabulous 8 mile run down King Street and up across to the park by the River side. The husband and teenager ran almost to the airport and so many people were running. It was nice to see the Sat market full of people too. Car park was fine (expensive but comparable with other big towns) didn't find it tight and we had a 4X4. WiFi expensive though and a bit hit and miss in public areas.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YellowJellyBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    411
    127
    43
    23
See reviews for
254
279
81
411
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night and didn't disappoint. Easy Metro ride from Reagan National to King St station and one block walk to hotel. Countless restaurants from Subway to high end cuisine within easy walk from hotel. Fitness center is the biggest and most well equipped i've ever seen. Front desk staff very professional and helpful. Definitely will stay again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
110 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great hotel in nice area with good restaurant options, and close to metro. I checked in and was told i was upgraded to a suite. Go to my room on the second floor and it was a business suite, so it just had a huge table in the extra room. I was on the second floor right outside the metro stop, but surprisingly you could no really here the metro. (there was a freight train that runs right next to the metro, and you cold here that, but it didn't run at night during my stay.) Hhonors gold free breakfast which was a buffet or a menu item. I was in a hurry so got a typical but still good Hilton buffet. Wish i would have had more time because the waiter said i could get any one thing of the menu as well. Would stay here again but would rather get a 6th floor room rather than a second floor business suite.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank truprunbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrico, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My friends & I came to Old Town for some r&r and that's exactly what we got at the Hilton. The staff were upbeat, pleasant & accommodating to our requests. I felt the communication prior & post stay via email reinforced the value they see in their customers. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Alexandria.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
locust grove, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Nice clean hotel, friendly staff and a wonderfual bar/restaurant. Front counter check in was very efficient and pleasant. Hotel is a short walk from DC Metro and Amtrak station. Various shopping and other restaurants are in walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Timothy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Even for the first time visitor to Alexandia, this hotel is pretty easy to find...figuring out the parking once you get there is another story. Once you pull into the parking garage you'll have to drive all the way down to the basement (that's where the designated "Hilton" parking spaces are). And if you accidentally park in the wrong area you will get a ticket (luckily I didn't on this trip but I saw plenty of others who did). I've got to say that this parking garage hands down was one of the most confusing garage I've ever been in! I had a hard time finding the elevators to get to the hotel even after I parked. But after all that craziness for about 15 mins, I finally made it up to the hotel, which was very nice. Very clean. And a mostly helpful staff...(can't say much for the front desk help though). I had spent a couple nights in a room on the train station side of the building and just couldn't take the sound of the metro making stops and taking off again every 2 minutes all day and night, so I asked the front desk if I could change rooms (away from the train tracks). They said yes, I changed rooms, and...when I got to my new room it was on the front of the building directly facing the train tracks and also now King Street (which gets pretty busy).
So, basicly:
The Pros: it is a very nice hotel, good breakfast, friendly (mostly) helpful staff, and within walking distance to everything, and of course very close to the metro.
The Cons: Very close to the metro (noise), terrible parking garage, and the very expensive cost for anything extra (like Wifi, or breakfast...which I think should be complimentiary being that you are paying soo much just to sleep there).
So, all in all...it is a nice hotel to stay at (a bit pricey, but it is the city so "what can ya do".) Great location as far as being downtown close to everything, just a little too close to the train.

Room Tip: If you stay here just be very specific about wanting your room on the side facing away from the trai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

A good, basic Hilton. The best part aspect is the location....right next to the King Street Metro station. The hotel is clean, looks good, but nothing exceptional. I have stayed here 4 times and the rate greatly varies. I have paid between $139 and $259. So, keep an eye on the best rate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drpsyce38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#6 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,135 reviews
Kimpton Morrison House
#15 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 stars 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Alexandria Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Alexandria Old Town

Property: Hilton Alexandria Old Town
Address: 1767 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314-2720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Alexandria Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to Washington DC, the Hilton Alexandria Old Town is located on historic King Street in charming Old Town Alexandria, VA. Grab a cup of coffee at Starbucks, located in the lobby, before heading to the adjacent King Street Metro station to visit downtown Washington DC, Georgetown and Alexandria attractions. Take advantage of the onsite business center and Wi-Fi or squeeze in a workout at our fitness center. Enjoy a delicious meal at our KingStreet Tavern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Alexandria Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Hilton Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing