We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great value for the price, service makes up for a few dings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Alexandria Old Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great value for the price, service makes up for a few dings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

- stayed here on a prepaid weekend rate which i thought was very inexpensive.
- their guest ambassador, Shirley, wrote me an email almost exactly 24 hours before i was to check in, asking if i needed anything. this resulted in me asking for a King bed instead of my reserved 2 doubles which was all i could snag at the discounted rate. when i checked in, my room was upgraded to a corner king suite on the top floor. that score definitely impressed me and is probably what i will remember most from my stay.
- there was a large convention (some sort of Herbalife type company) in the hotel over the weekend, so the breakfast restaurant was mobbed with people all dressed up for their annual sales meeting. not sure if the hotel was caught by surprise or just short staffed, so i helped myself to the buffet and a server arrived as i was finishing to take my little coupon and offer a drink. no problem with that experience, as i had only 10 minutes to spare, but if i was paying out of pocket, i would have skipped it.
- the location is superb. for those unfamiliar with the area, Old Town Alexandria is a pretty genuine colonial/early 1800's tourist trap. cycling through the neighborhoods and looking at the old townhouses made me want to move there and become some sort of historic re-enactment person who can get away with wearing white cotton stockings. the area is very walkable, has tons of shops and restaurants, and is a nice counterpoint to the crowds of the tourist traps in DC. the hotel is across the street from the King Street metro stop, which is only two stops beyond the Reagan Airport stop. You could take the metro into town in 15 minutes flat.
- while i felt i got the star treatment for my diamond status, the place does not seem to cater towards the business types, who probably get sucked into staying in town or the big commercial centers in Crystal City or Tysons Corners. there is no Exec Lounge or freebies or water included in the room. The hotel has more of a wedding/Kiwanis Club meeting feel to it.
- i did not use the gym or overall hotel facilities so could not speak to that aspect.
- there is a starbucks inside the hotel.

If you want something a little different from staying right inside the District, check this place out. my feeling is that not a lot of diamonds come through here, so they're more willing to hook you up than other full-fledged hiltons. i wouldn't pay top dollar versus other options, but i was glad i stayed here.

- other tip - you can rent a bicycle from Bike and Roll, which is near the river. the Mt Vernon trail is a safe, off-the-highway bike path that goes from the Key Bridge all the way down to Mt. Vernon. I biked one day up and over to Falls Church and back, and the other down to Mt. Vernon, toured the estate, and biked back. I felt i saw a lot of the beautiful countryside.

Room Tip: Shirley upgraded me to a suite without me asking. Don't be afraid to ask if you have hilton stat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwa33139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    411
    127
    43
    23
See reviews for
254
279
81
411
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Branch, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Having stayed here before, I did not hesitate to book a room here again. Unfortunately, the hotel is now badly in need of renovation and provides no security in the lobby which, in our case, was a necessity. The food is awful and over-priced at breakfast. Parking is $32. per night with no valet in a dingy, underground garage. On the bright side, the location near the Metro is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank fuzzy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie B, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your visit to our hotel. I'm very sorry that your stay was not a more pleasant one. I have taken the liberty of sharing your comments with our leadership team. Your experience was not a typical one; we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again and better demonstrate the abilities of our staff and facility.

Best Regards,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
124 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I was in town for an ASTD class, and this hotel is less than a block from the ASTD class location. Has a full Starbucks downstaris, and plenty of good sandwich shops nearby. If you really need an emergency shopping fix, the BestBuy, Target, TJ Maxx & others are within a 10-15 min drive (just up Hwy 1/Jefferson Davis Hwy).

The rooms here are clean, and really nice to stay in - I was pleasantly surprised for a hotel that likely gets a lot of traffic. Parking was 'just OK', it can be a little confusing at first, as they share a garage with other locations. I felt a little on-gueard in the garage as a girl can feel pretty 'alone' down there, it is well lit & I just did what I could to get close to the elevator.....elevator needs your room key to take you up, so I liked that! They do offer valet if you want to spring for it.

Desk folks were very nice, same with the Starbucks staff. If you are here for ASTD, I will mention that the Hampton Inn is IMMED next door to ASTD, but I am pretty certain the room quality at the Hilton is much nicer + the ease of Starbucks right in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hodels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Let's start with first impressions! When we walked into the lobby, it looked nice, what you would expect from a nice D.C. hotel. There were lovely real flowers on a large table and a full starbucks in the lobby. The service was great, the people at the desk provided us with maps and brochures that were very helpful and the concierge was willing to give us directions to different points of intrest. Then I went into the room. It looked nice, standard hilton beds and furniture, nice entryway. Despite the clean look, I smelled cigarette smoke my companions assured me that it was just musty so we stayed in the room. We later found that there was a surplus of moisture in the hotel which was being taken care of. I proceded to have numerous breathing problems at night and had to go to a cvs in the middle of the night for allergy pills. The bathroom was not up to my expectations for Hilton. It seemed a bit bland and lacking in any luxurious touches. Our safe was low on batteries and my technology got locked inside and we had to wait for a service man to come and fix it. After our lock box fiasco, we decided to look for the pool which is well advertised on most travel sites including the Hilton's. We followed the signs and arrived in a hall converted into a cocktail space that was dirty (no events had taken place that day) and littered with soda cans. We proceded down a hall that smelled like chlorine to find that the pool was closed. We asked what was happening to it and if it would be ready before we left. We were told that the pool was being filled in to make room for a new banquet room. We decided to walk down the street and get dinner at a restraunt that the concierge told us was only a few blocks away, a few blocks turned out to be about a mile and a half, which was inconvenient to say the least. Despite all of the negative factors, the proximity to the metro was great considering our intent to travel into the city for some off the beaten path attractions and we loved the area. Next time, i will be returning to the Hampton inn instead of the Hilton.

Room Tip: Make sure that you aren't near the metro, they run late and could keep you up, we didn't hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLTraveler887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie B, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our hotel. I'm very sorry your experience was not more enjoyable. Please accept our apologies for the areas in which we failed to meet your expectations.

I am pleased to report that as of mid August 2013 all rooms that face the Metro Station have had sound proof windows installed! Now all the convenience of being 37 steps from the Metro - without any of the noise!

Thanks again for the opportunity to respond to your concerns. We hope to be of service to you again soon.

Sincerely,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Excellent service. My daughter was ill and everyone was very helpful and encouraging. Hot tea was sent to our room and a doctor was offered. I appreciated everything very much. My youngest wanted to run and push all the buttons on the elevator and they were very kind to her and accepting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed 2 nights there over the weekend. We got a very good AAA rate when we booked.
Parking is pricy but full disclosed when you book on the Hilton website and in line with other hotels.
Our room was clean and had plenty of space. It overlooked the Metro but the noise was not an issue.
We had breakfast in the hotel. The food was good and not overly expensive compared to other hotels we have been (never compare a hotel to your local diner when it comes to breakfast pricing) The Starbucks in the lobby is also another breakfast option. We didn't go there this time but have in the past when we only wanted a muffin for breakfast.
The Metro is right across the street and there is a free shuttle there that run down to Old Town Alexandria
I only wished they offered valet as the garage is cramped and is shared with an office building and another hotel. We stayed on a weekend and had no problem getting a space.
Like most hotels in that price range ( Marriott & Hyatt) that do not have resort fees you have to pay for in room wi-fi but it is offered for free in the lobby.
That being said it has been our 1st choice when visiting D.C. for the last 6 years and nothing on this visit changed our minds.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank habs1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I have stayed here about a dozen times and have never had a bad experience.

The staff is fantastic and always helpful.

The main draw is the location - being right at the Metro you are conveniently located to Reagan Airport and the city. Plus, Old Town has great restaurants, some good pubs and a bit of shopping.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#6 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,135 reviews
Kimpton Morrison House
#15 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 stars 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Alexandria Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Alexandria Old Town

Property: Hilton Alexandria Old Town
Address: 1767 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314-2720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Alexandria Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to Washington DC, the Hilton Alexandria Old Town is located on historic King Street in charming Old Town Alexandria, VA. Grab a cup of coffee at Starbucks, located in the lobby, before heading to the adjacent King Street Metro station to visit downtown Washington DC, Georgetown and Alexandria attractions. Take advantage of the onsite business center and Wi-Fi or squeeze in a workout at our fitness center. Enjoy a delicious meal at our KingStreet Tavern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Alexandria Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Hilton Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing