We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Metro but Far from Tourist area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Alexandria Old Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
688 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Close to Metro but Far from Tourist area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Got early checkin at 10:30am which was very nice. Very nice room with great bed but overlooking train tracks and can hear train going by. Wifi in common area was inconsistent. Very convenient to metro across the street and king street trolley. Hotel is 17 blocks to river front where the attractions are. The trolley is very busy and hard to get on and it stops alot. Traffic on king street is bumper to bumper. The Crowne Plaza and holiday inn are closer to the river and a short 15 minute to the river front tourist area. These hotels offer s free shuttle to airport and Braddock metro.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haileythegolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie B, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our hotel, and for the Very Good rating!

I am pleased to report that as of mid August 2013 all rooms that face the Metro Station have had sound proof windows installed! Now all the convenience of being 37 steps from the Metro - without any of the noise!

Thanks again for the opportunity to respond to your concerns. We hope to be of service to you again soon.

Sincerely,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    432
    132
    46
    25
See reviews for
272
298
83
436
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Where to stay in DC with an 8 month old? I seemingly spent hours researching that very question during our recent trip when we decided to spend an extra night in the area before our conference hotel opened up. Ultimately we decided on the Hilton Alexandria Old Town - we're glad we did!

First, it's hard to beat the location. Steps away from the Metro, 2 stops from National Airport, and at the western end of Alexandria's King Street. Yes, many of the rooms do face an active rail line and you will hear trains, but the rooms were insulated enough that our 8-month old was able to sleep well despite the train traffic. And yes, it is a long walk to the waterfront - but the free King Street trolley stops right in front of the hotel, so you can easily reach any of the attractions you want to on King Street.

The rooms were fairly standard Hilton rooms, though they were quite spacious compared with the conference hotel we went to the next night. We found the front desk to be quite accommodating, allowing us to check in quite early for our stay. This helped our little one get a good nap, making the rest of our day in DC much more enjoyable.

Overall, I would definitely head back to this hotel. The weekend rates were exceedingly reasonable (even cheaper than the neighboring Hampton) and our room was a nice respite from the hustle and bustle of DC.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank CoMoRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I found the front desk to be friendly and helpful. I also appreciated being so close to the Metro. The airport is only 2 stops away! There are many stores and restaurants within walking distance, so I didn’t have to worry too much about where to eat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie B, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. We were glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay.

Thank you for the kind words about our staff and facility - and for the Excellent rating!

We hope to be of service to you again soon.

Sincerely,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Hiltons are never too special. There wasn't anything wrong with this hotel, but there are better hotels in Alexandria at the same price. The location is at the far end of King Street and is a bit of a walk to the restaurants and the waterfront.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aviatoradair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie B, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our hotel.

We were sorry to hear that your experience was not a remarkable one - we'll certainly try harder next time if we are fortunate enough to get another chance to serve you.

Most Hospitably Yours,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I've visited Alexandria many times and this was my first stay at the Hilton. I had a very nice stay at this Hilton and wish I discovered it sooner. For comparison, my previous visits included stays at Monaco, Hampton Inn and Lorien.

The front desk staff was extremely accommodating to my last-minute request. I forgot to say while making my res. that one of my two rooms had to be a 2 bed room. But on check in they were easily (and in a friendly manner) able to make the change. The desk staff was not at all flustered by my early arrival and my rooms were ready. Considering Alexandria was sold out last weekend - that was a pleasant surprise!

Rooms were very clean, extra towels were delivered within 10 minutes of check-in. Bed was comfortable. The pillows are the kind that smoosh down easily which is probably why there are six of them on the king bed? Peter Thomas Roth shampoos/soaps, etc was a nice touch. And the refrigerator actually keep water bottles cold!

I did see a concierge (I read here someone did not see one) and even used him for ground transportation arrangements and driving directions. Didn't eat at the restaurant but lobby Starbucks was a great convenience and the bartender was very friendly and nice to chat with. This was a leisure visit so I didn't even bother with wifi - just used my 4G and service (AT&T) was fine.

I didn't give 5 stars because the air conditioner is motion censored and cut off during the night while asleep. And the parking was pricey at $32.00 per day. Overall a very good experience and I recommend this Hilton in Old town Alexandria.

Room Tip: No pool or spa that I saw or used so I cannot rate it. I was on the 4th floor 408 facing the Metro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kcw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina Girl
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Good: Location was great, right by the metro and on King St. close enough to shopping dining and waterfront. Room was overall clean and hotel looked nice also. Staff seemed welcoming when they were around. Starbucks inside of hotel. The restaurant breakfast was good (or I was hungry:). Waffles were the kind you could make yourself when staying at a Hampton/Comfort Suites. Look to spend $14-17 for buffet.
Criticism: This was a free stay, but sill disappointing. I've stayed in hotels with less of an expectation and have turned out amazing. With Hilton, you go in expecting the best and I'm continually getting disappointed. The rooms were average-2beds, fridge, etc. Because I slept on 1 bed, did not notice that the sheet had stains on it. Yes, there is a crazy $32/day parking in a garage that is extremely hard to maneuver in. Support beams encroach on parking spaces and its like a maze. Don't get thirsty-$3 for bottle of hot bottle of water in room.

Room Tip: Pick on the side away from metro.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nai_Nai_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie B, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our hotel.

We were sorry to hear that your experience was not a remarkable one - we'll certainly try harder next time if we are fortunate enough to get another chance to serve you.

Most Hospitably Yours,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Hotel was clean, quiet, comfortable. Free breakfast and parking were much appreciated and excellent. The location is absolutely awesome for a DC trip as it is yards away from the King Street metro station which will, of course, take you anywhere you want to go in DC. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Dina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie B, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Old Town, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. We were glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay.

Thank you for the kind words about our staff and facility - and for the Excellent rating!

We hope to be of service to you again soon.

Sincerely,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#8 of 54 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
The Westin Alexandria
#12 of 54 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Alexandria Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Alexandria Old Town

Property: Hilton Alexandria Old Town
Address: 1767 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314-2720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Alexandria Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to Washington DC, the Hilton Alexandria Old Town is located on historic King Street in charming Old Town Alexandria, VA. Grab a cup of coffee at Starbucks, located in the lobby, before heading to the adjacent King Street Metro station to visit downtown Washington DC, Georgetown and Alexandria attractions. Take advantage of the onsite business center and Wi-Fi or squeeze in a workout at our fitness center. Enjoy a delicious meal at our KingStreet Tavern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Alexandria Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Hilton Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing